If It Fits, I Sits (In Which I Get Cranky With Matt Wuerffel and Devon Carver: Part 2)

August 19, 2014 at 4:09 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, Jumping Puzzle, mmorpg, PvE | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

sab

Let me be perfectly honest. I’m not a huge fan of Super Adventure Box. I think it’s good for a gag once in a while, but I was never a huge fan of platform games to begin with. While I am a fan of Zelda, jumping puzzles, secret rooms and hidden passages, for whatever reason SAB doesn’t really scratch any itches for me. I like the skins, I like that Arenanet was brave enough to try it out, I liked going in there with friends and that sense of old school nostalgia. I did not like yet another form of currency, tribulation mode, farming for baubles, or the combat in general.

That said, I think Arenanet is making a mistake by putting it aside with seemingly no plans at all to bring it back.

Why is that? Well for one, it is very popular. So popular that quite an uproar has sprung up and the normally mild undercurrent of unsatisfied players has begun their screed of patently ridiculous complaints. For instance the top comment in one thread is that Arenanet has released no new permanent content since release. Right.

While popularity alone probably shouldn’t be the only guideline for whether Arenanet brings back content, I think looking at why it’s popular could help. It’s different, very different. I can’t think of another MMO that tried the video game within the video game idea. It servers as a very refreshing change of pace from the usual MMO shenanigans. The tone is completely different. Gone are the life and death struggles, the atmosphere of SAB is far more playful.

And it’s fun. To most people it is very fun. Joyously fun. That’s what video games are about right? If SAB underminded the fun, if it split people up, if it was more frustrating than fruitful then I would understand. But it’s fun. To most people.

For me I have more OCD reasons for having SAB around. I don’t like that Arenanet ever considered for a moment selling the Infinite Continue Coin, a cash shop item designed around the difficulty of in game content, but they did. And lots of people bought it, some of them now demanding a refund and rightfully so.

And I don’t like temporary content period. I’ve always advocated more permanent content and am happy that the living world season 2 has adjusted to what most players seem to want. But that leaves older content like SAB just sitting there. It could be put back in the game permanently couldn’t it? With little to no work? A giant slab of content just sitting there does no good. I’ve also never been a fan of items that go on the auction house for hundreds of gold because they are no longer available and supremely rare, such as the super skins.

I’m sure there are a lot of people who don’t care, or who don’t like Super Adventure Box. That’s fine. Maybe Arenanet’s analytics show that it isn’t as popular as it seems. That is certainly possible. If Arenanet can’t justify making more of SAB then I’m fine with that. The problem is the content exists, the gem store item exists, the people who want it back exist, and not bringing it back, not implementing what we all know is already there is kind of a bad move. I can’t imagine just leaving this wide swathe of content on the cutting room floor just because you don’t want to make more of it.

Put the existing content in the game permanently, put a gem store price on it if you have to, and be done with the attitude that it doesn’t fit. It’s already been in the game and it fits just fine.

4 Comments

  1. I hated the Super Adventure Box and would never set foot in it if it was returned. But I gotta say, I can’t see any reason whatsoever NOT to make it a permanent feature for those who like it. It’s completely “outside the gameworld” so why not have it there as a mini-game?

    For main Living World story content, I like the constant state of flux that saw areas like the Tower in Kessex Hills come and then go as the story progressed. But SAB isn’t part of that story. It’s just a bit of fun that a nutty Asura created.

    • SAB, I actually dislike it, like I dislike tanks and such in my fantasyish game. I accept that some want it and so I live with it.
      I can however see why people are upset; its starting to snowball too. Why are we having a break now? What have they put out to keep us going for a month? Nothing. Anets way bigger than gw1 times and I tend to agree that what they are delivering now looks way too uncomfortably like GW Beyond. That’s ok come November 13 but I was hoping it would at least compete for my attention…

    • Even the currency is pretty much entirely separate.

  2. […] Hunter’s Insight — If It Fits, I Sits (In Which I Get Cranky With Matt Wuerffel and Devo…. “Let me be perfectly honest. I’m not a huge fan of Super Adventure Box. I think it’s good for a gag once in a while, but I was never a huge fan of platform games to begin with. While I am a fan of Zelda, jumping puzzles, secret rooms and hidden passages, for whatever reason SAB doesn’t really scratch any itches for me. I like the skins, I like that Arenanet was brave enough to try it out, I liked going in there with friends and that sense of old school nostalgia. I did not like yet another form of currency, tribulation mode, farming for baubles, or the combat in general.” […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

