In Which I Get Cranky With Matt Wuerffel and Devon Carver: Part 1

August 18, 2014 at 3:48 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg, PvE | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

huntquips

A lot of the lateral progression for players of Guild Wars 2 revolves around skins. I certainly spend a great deal of time collecting skins even if I don’t change my look very much. Many of the skins are collected through dungeon repetition but many are available only through gold or karma. After two years that’s become quite an annoyance. Gold farming and karma training should be the playstyle of bots, not players.

The most egregious example of gold required to get the skin you want is the precursor. Over the past several months, since the wardrobe allowed players to skin non-legendary weapons with legendary skins, the price of precursor weapons has skyrocketed. The chaos gun, precursor to quip, that I bought a year and a half ago is now 4x the price I paid. Approximately 200g then, it is around 800g now. All for a not particularly sought after Legendary weapon.

I’ve been hearing a lot, and for a long time, from people who spend a lot of time on these types of goals that the economy is broken and that inflation is out of control. While there are clearly problems, I don’t agree. The economy works. In fact it works better than it did in the first months after launch. I can sell virtually anything for a profit. I’ve seen dead economies in MMOs and they don’t work like that. Either you can’t afford anything or you can afford everything.

Guild Wars 2’s economy is fine, except for when it comes to precursors, at which point it is kind of nuts. Not just the precursors but a lot of the components for building a legendary are high priced and require a lot of gold generation.

So I guess I was pretty disappointed to see in the GuildMag interview that once again precursor crafting is so far away that they’re using the term “soon” to describe when it’s coming.

Somewhere along the way Arenanet has gotten the idea that gold generation is content. That players spending loads of time doing nothing but repeating content, farming mobs, doing whatever is the most efficient way to make gold is acceptable. Guild Wars 2 is not a grind they say, you don’t have to have good skins to play they say. If you make your lateral progression about skins, and then make the only way to get lots of skins through gold, and the only way to get lots of gold is through grinding, then you’ve got yourself a bit of a conundrum. I thought long and hard about a polite way to end that sentence. Conundrum.

Building legendary weapons should be epic and take a lot of work, yes. Fine with it. It should even cost a lot of gold, that’s cool too. But I don’t think there’s a single person playing the game who is satisfied with where things sit.

Arenanet clearly has an idea of complex crafting recipes, such as with the current backpiece (enough with the backpieces already) recipes. I don’t know what the big hold up is. Even before I bought chaos gun, precursor prices were a problem. Yet it seems like nothing has been done in all this time.

After two years, sometimes “soon” isn’t good enough.

3 Comments

  1. I dunno, I think the crafting process of crafting a legendary is already pretty complex. The latest back piece crafting is downright convoluted. If it is, as some suspect, a prototype of precursor crafting, I’m not sure how much that would help, especially if the crafted version is account bound. It might take some of the edge off since people with the patience for the process won’t be buying, but I don’t know if that’s enough. I can’t help but wonder if the non-mystic forge drop rate has decreased as well. I hear a lot of people getting them from there but not as a drop in a long time.

    I’m also a little frustrated by how often I find myself alt tabbing to refer to guides for new content. It’s the sort of thing I save as a last resort, but I’m feeling more dependent upon them lately. The game has been feeling less intuitive, especially crafting.

    • I agree that it isn’t entirely intuitive but some people enjoy that, and once you have a handle on it it isn’t so bad. I haven’t looked at a guide or dulfys for the backpiece yet and I’m doing fine.
      I think allowing crafted precursors, no matter how convoluted would make for a huge change in demand, instead of paying 1000g you can craft it? Unless the cost adds up to 1000g of course people will go that route.

  2. […] Hunter’s Insight — In Which I Get Cranky With Matt Wuerffel and Devon Carver: Part 1. “A lot of the lateral progression for players of Guild Wars 2 revolves around skins. I certainly spend a great deal of time collecting skins even if I don’t change my look very much. Many of the skins are collected through dungeon repetition but many are available only through gold or karma. After two years that’s become quite an annoyance. Gold farming and karma training should be the playstyle of bots, not players.” […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

