Carrowmore

February 17, 2014 at 3:28 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg, PvE | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

I’m not really the type of person who like to talk about themselves. That’s probably why I’ve never really indulged in blog posts about my characters, what armour they’re wearing, what builds they’re using, their race, whether they have a back story, or anything else.

I guess I think of online games as a chance to hang out with people, not as a way to lose myself in a fantasy world. My characters, generally speaking, are me. Carrowmore, is my dps warrior, not a male sylvari with a heart of gold seeking vengeance against the Lychcroft Mere lich.

But I see a lot of people who make posts about their main or alt, and they seem to enjoy it, so I figure I may as well. This should be the first part of an 8 part series, probably taking place over the course of several months.

gw264

This is Carrowmore. He’s a male sylvari with a heart of gold seeking vengeance against the Lychcroft Mere lich. No, I’m kidding. I named him after the ancient Irish crypt of the same name. I already have a ranger with carrow in the name, Rosecarrow, so when I stumbled upon the name of this crypt it seemed appropriate.

His armour is from Twilight Arbor and I’m pretty terrible about dying armour so he’s dyed along the same lines as his skin, a light blue with white tinge. I had to have a sylvari with all TA armour didn’t I? I’m pretty sure it’s a requirement. That’s the Mystic Claymore he’s wielding. I suppose I should start work on a legendary greatsword for him, or an ascended, but since I can’t decide between those two options right now, an exotic is fine. Come on precursor crafting.

I said I don’t indulge in giving my characters much personality but that’s not entirely true. In Carrowmore’s case he’s constantly talking about “gaining adrenaline”, particularly when he’s losing adrenaline. That makes me think of him as a bit of a nut, or a dolt. Constantly getting things wrong, but not in any way that matters.

inventorycarrow

I promised a post on inventory, so I figured I’d combine that with this character series. To start with, ignore the angry bird in the upper left corner of the screenshot.

My personal ideal of bag space is 88 spaces. It’s the square size of the inventory UI that fits perfectly for me. Two 20 slot bags, two 15 slot bags, and an 18 slot bag. One invisible bag to protect things I wouldn’t want to accidentally sell.

Starting in the upper left, my salvage kits. A must for proper inventory maintenance. Luck essences really require a great deal of salvaging these days, not to mention the need for silk or other materials.

Then there’s the long list of food consumables. I like a good range from cheap, to utility, to expensive. Steak and Asparagus used to be so ridiculously cheap, I’m going to have to find a similar but more affordable alternative. Superior Sharpening Stones is one of only a couple viable options for potions so I don’t skimp on price. Meat and Winter Vegetable Stew is great for dodging, always bring that for emergency dodging situations, even to the point where I started buying the Pot of Meat and Winter Vegetable Stew for group situations. Dragonfly Cupcakes for magic find, cheaper than Omnomberry Bars. Dragon’s Breath Buns for critical strike damage on a critical strike warrior.

Then we have 2 environmental weapons. The Fire Elemental Powder for emergency DPS, and the Experimental Teleportation Gun for emergency teleporting.

To finish out the top World XP boosters and 25 quartz waiting to be made into 1 charged quartz crystal.

Beginning the bottom portion of the inventory, gathering tools are self explanatory, such a pain to be gathering and run out. A Hall of Monuments portal stone, probably unnecessary but I do occasionally go up there. The Lightning Kite from the Zephyr Sanctum living story content. A 2 week golem banker that you get from the Digital Deluxe edition of Guild Wars 2, don’t ask me why I haven’t used it, I don’t know.

Then there’s the weapons. All level 80 exotics, some named, some crafted. Siren’s Call, Arc, Pearl Sabre, Fractal Mace, Scorchrazor’s Fist, Pearl Reaver, Beacon of Light, Pearl Shell. I imagine the HoM skins might replace some of the pearl stuff.

Then there’s an exotic earring bought with karma, can’t salvage so I may as well keep it around if I need to switch up some stats for some reason, same for the ascended ring, and the Galea helm you get from character creation.

So yeah. That’s Carrowmore. I typically play him in dungeons these days, though I’m concerned for the upcoming changes to critical damage.

3 Comments

  1. you are a cheapskate aren’t you? 🙂 900g and only using 15 slot bags? I don’t have 90g to my name but I have 20 slots bags ;p

    Jokes aside, I kind of enjoy reading posts like this.

    • Maybe the reason you don’t have any money is you spend it all on 20 slot bags. 😛

  2. […] Hunter’s Insight — Carrowmore. “I’m not really the type of person who like to talk about themselves. That’s probably why I’ve never really indulged in blog posts about my characters, what armour they’re wearing, what builds they’re using, their race, whether they have a back story, or anything else.” […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

