Outnumbered and Bloodlust

November 5, 2013 at 8:20 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg, WvW | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

I’ve been in world versus world a lot lately. I’m not a big pvp type. I’ve gotten rank 4 mostly through doing the Mad King’s jumping puzzle and waiting to get Daily Participation and what little rank I can get through that, hilariously. However I do have a few thousand kills in WvW due to it being more random, less of an intense duel.

One thing that really bothers me though is that Northern Shiverpeaks, my server, is chronically Outnumbered. We are a low population server and even against other low population servers we have a tough time fielding enough people to put up a fight on more than one or two maps.

This has all been emphasized by WvW season 1. We got bumped into the Silver league in North America when Kaineng took a dive and we won our match, moving them down to Bronze, and us up. As such we have been up against some behemoths (by NSP standards) and Outnumbered (AKA Outmanned) constantly.

Getting to the point, the Outnumbered buff is bloody useless.

+20% Magic find
+33% Experience
+10% World Experience
Take no Armor damage on death

There isn’t a player in WvW that appreciates this buff. A food buff would eclipse the magic find, experience isn’t important unless you’re on an alt and we all know how alt friendly the game is, 10% world experience is small, and no armour damage is practically a slap in the face. It’s like they’re saying upfront “There is nothing we are willing to do to help, but hey I hope you’re mollified by this horse**** buff.”

You know what would be useful? Bloodlust.

Bloodlust is a buff you originally got through an Orb of Power, but now you get through conquering points of control or “ruins” in the various borderlands maps.

Minor Bloodlust

Everyone in your realm gains 30 bonus points to power, precision, toughness, vitality, condition damage, and healing power for holding 3 ruins in 1 Borderland. Invaders killed by finishers reward your realm with 1 War Score.

I think Outnumbered and Bloodlust should either be combined or switched. It just makes too much sense to me. Why not encourage players to get in there and actually fight with a little confidence from a stat boost? Surely that would be far superior. Outnumbered practically serves as a warning for players to go elsewhere, as it surely isn’t an enticement to continue.

Making a change would address a complaint against Bloodlust that has been around since the early days of GW2, that it only exists to allow a winning server to continue winning, but with more ease. On larger servers Bloodlust probably doesn’t have much effect but I think on a low pop it is more of a problem.

I’m sure Arenanets argument against any change would be something along the lines of not wanting to encourage people to be Outnumbered in order to get the buff. But the buff is designed firstly to not be that much of a benefit and secondly everyone knows that zergs trump stat boosts in WvW anyway. Getting more people in WvW is what is important, and Outnumbered just doesn’t do that.

Or at least that’s my perspective as a casual WvWer on a low population server trying to punch way above its weight.

6 Comments

  1. Coming from Jade Quarry I usually only see this buff in borderlands. It’s nice when you’re in a borderland and in a small group because when you inevitably die (a lot) you don’t lose so much money. I think what it would boil down to is maybe having Outnumbered be better in EB. I think it works just fine for borderland situations, but I can see the clear disadvantage in EB since it’s useless against a zerg. It is wonderful if you’re running havoc though. Or roaming. But really I’m mostly talking about the cost of repairing armor, I never really paid attention to the other “buffs”. Which in of itself proves your point, it’s pretty useless.

    • Well it’s a daily occurence for me logging in at any time other than prime time, and even then if we’re being crushed, you never know. In any case I don’t see a reason why outnumbered couldn’t add actual stats. It’s like arenanet is adhering to some unknown principle that doesn’t really have any basis in reality.

  2. This is pretty much what we’ve been asking for since beta. It makes no sense to give the already winning side more buffs to power and try to placate those getting demolished with buffs they actually can’t take advantage of.

    • yeah, my thoughts are hardly original but I don’t think I’ve ever blogged about it before, and since I’ve been playing wvw a bit it inspired me to write about it.

      • I’m certainly not knocking you for that, it’s an issue that needs more attention for sure and the more poeple bringing it up the better. Actually I’m just glad to see more people getting into WvW and getting a glimpse of what I loved.

        Have fun

  3. […] Hunter’s Insight — Outnumbered and Bloodlust. “I’ve been in world versus world a lot lately. I’m not a big pvp type. I’ve gotten rank 4 mostly through doing the Mad King’s jumping puzzle and waiting to get Daily Participation and what little rank I can get through that, hilariously. However I do have a few thousand kills in WvW due to it being more random, less of an intense duel.” […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

