City and Colour

June 8, 2013 at 2:36 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg, PvE | 9 Comments
Tags: , ,

In an effort to start blogging again instead of writing an essay on a subject and then not posting it because of how long and boring it is, I think I’ll just start throwing down far shorter posts about random things I talk about with friends.

For instance, I want more reasons to go to the racial cities.

Lion’s Arch is great and all but I hardly need new reasons to go there. All the festivals seem to take place there, dungeon vendor NPCs, Fractals of the Mists, 3 jumping puzzles, and more.

Plus all the things that other cities have by default. Bank, Auction House, crafting stations, repairs, profession NPCs, guild vendors, laurel vendors, etc.

Sure you go to racial cities in the beginning for personal storyline, something Lion’s Arch also has, but after the personal story is done, you have no reason to return beyond map completion. Even the rewards for that are shrug worthy.

At one point early on I guess the hope was that activities in cities would draw people in. But with real rewards for Keg Brawl outside getting your daily done, I don’t see that many people going to Hoelbrak. And besides, you’re in an instance in an activity. It’s not the same.

The only reason I can think of to go to a city that isn’t Lion’s Arch is cultural armour sets. That’s it. You may like the atmosphere, you may enjoy the art, but I doubt many people spend more time in one of these cities than LA.

Super Adventure Box was an interesting exception of course. Rata Sum was suddenly flooded with people. I actually felt like the utility of the bank/AH area was refreshing. But of course it was temporary content.

So come on Arenanet, give me a racial hearth type skill thing to get me back to my racial city and give them some of LA’s unique advantages. Or heck, go ahead and put some temporary content in one of the cities, lets at least get some use out of the most underutilized zones in the game.

9 Comments

  1. As you probably know, I am a dead set human supporter. So I’ve even purchased portable loot toilets so I never have to go to LA. Making just one of these, in LA, to my mind means that they don’t want people going anywhere but LA for their default location. LA is for all races, and as we know by now, we don’t have time to forward any particular races story as that’s content that’s not going to get everyone excited… so I thinks we are stuck with LA for the time being. Even if I do my best to avoid it.

    • Except flame & frost seemed to be advancing norn and charr storylines. So we can perhaps expect further storylines with other races and racial villains. Totally meant to mention the mystic forge though.

  2. That will only happen if Anet give us a reason for go to racial cities. Maybe a revamp of our instanced home zone can make that trick, but I think that they need add more things.

    • I think its the other way around actually, but that’s me.

    • They need to add more mini games like keg bowl for the other cities, and then perhaps promote them with fun competitions and tournaments?

      • Or a decent reward for doing them. Keg brawl rewards nothing but the achievement track and dailies. At least crab toss has a chest…

  3. For a long time, well into 2013, I went to Black Citadel for crafting and banking. That was partly because I love the place, being a Charr loyalist, and partly because I was in the habit of doing most of my dailies in Plains of Ashford. It was only when they changed the dailies to the multiple choice format that I really stopped using BC as my main base.

    I didn’t move to Lion’s Arch, though. I now do most of my banking and crafting in Yak’s Bend Borderland, including using the Mystic Forge there so long as we hold our own Garrison (which was rare for a while when Dragonbrand were in town). The Borders are far more convenient than LA because you can be there in a couple of clicks, all the facilities are right next to each other and when you’re done you return to exactly where you were before. It surprises me everyone doesn’t use them but I guess perhaps a lot of people assume it would be dangerous, which of course it isn’t.

    As for making the racial cities more attractive as social hubs, it seems pretty clear ANet prefer to have everyone in one place. If not surely they wouldn’t keep adding every permanent new choke point to LA. Racial cities get short-run guest attractions like Tixx On Tour and SAB but infrastructure adds like Fractals and Southsun funnel through the Capital. It is a shame in some ways, but on the other hand there’s some merit in keeping a focus.

    • I think its mostly the loading screens for me. Stuff may be closer to gether but I don’t need loading screen after loading screen, even if LA does take longer to load.
      There is of course some merit in keeping focus but we’re also completely ignoring 5 entire zones in the game.

  4. […] Hunter’s Insight — City and Colour. “In an effort to start blogging again instead of writing an essay on a subject and then not posting it because of how long and boring it is, I think I’ll just start throwing down far shorter posts about random things I talk about with friends. For instance, I want more reasons to go to the racial cities.” […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

