Temple Runs

February 25, 2013 at 10:26 am | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg, PvE | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

One thing I think a low population server like Northern Shiverpeaks does right is temple runs. It’s one of the best things going on with my server. We can’t win a WvW match, we don’t have people in every zone, I’m not sure how much of a community feel there is, but damn it we don’t capture Lyssa, Dwayna, Melandru, the gates of Arah, Balthazar, and Grenth on a near nightly basis.

It is due mostly to the guild Brown Cow Train and a commander named Anths. Early on they got the idea to organize several times a week at 8pm EST at Meddler’s Summit and then do a number of different temples, usually about 3 runs.

Of course sometimes there are problems. Months ago people were still getting used to the fights so they didn’t know how to effectively do Melandru, or Balthazar or Dwayna or Grenth or Melandru would get bugged, or any other number of hiccups. Certainly the changes to Grenth in the most recent patch made for a few interesting nights on temple runs.

At this point most people on my server are familiar with the runs, they know the ins and outs of the events, how to unbug events if they haven’t been fixed, where to stand and not stand. I had gotten so used to the runs that I had forgotten these runs weren’t necessarily happening on other servers.

So it was a bit of a surprise when I started mentioning the runs a couple of months ago to friends on other servers and some of them didn’t have anyone organizing that sort of thing. Even when they were on high population servers that rarely captured the temples.

I guess the main reason for that is probably rewards. The NPC merchant is great and everything, but the chest drops are rarely anything more than blues or at best greens. I got the impression a lot of people did those runs for a chance at exotics and, flying spaghetti monster willing, a pre-cursor. Which frankly never happens.

I haven’t been on a temple run in a while but there was a stretch where I would do it a few times a week. I’m not even sure if they’re still going to be honest, I’ve been playing other games, but it was certainly a lot of fun. If you don’t have someone organizing this stuff on your server, give it a shot.

2 Comments

  1. That sounds like a great idea! What’s more, with guesting, maybe people from other servers could hop over to take part which might keep this running for a while. I really enjoyed the temple runs I have managed to do so far. If they added something about these into the daily rotation that might also help motivate people to go along.

    • Certainly there isn’t anything stopping North American players from joining us on Northern Shiverpeaks, I did a run last night so they seem to be still going on.

      Oh and the daily group event might qualify for helping people finish dailies during a temple run.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

