Strut

August 15, 2012 at 12:55 am | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 24 Comments
Tags: , ,

I’m going to take my sweet ass time.

Once Guild Wars 2 releases for pre-purchasers on August 25th, I am going to level slower than a fundie christian at science camp.

I’ll be leveling a few characters at a time, stopping off to see any little thing that catches my interest. I’ll be that hyper-active dog that catches an unfamiliar scent and runs off in pursuit.

Guild Wars 2 isn’t that game anyway. I’m sure there will be tons of people who speed level off by themselves from 1 to 80 inside 24 hours or so. They’ll declare the game is boring and hopefully shelve GW2 and never return.

Right now I’m that guy on the side of a cliff, a tiger above me so that I can’t climb up, and a tiger below me so that I can’t climb down. Strawberries are delicious.

I’m going to sink my teeth into every subtlety, every divine morsel of detail and I’m going to savour it. I am going to savour the ever loving crap out of Tyria.

And for every single person that ever said Guild Wars 2 wouldn’t have jumping, I’m going to devote just one jump to you. For every person that said Guild Wars 2 was vaporware I’m going to play an hour in your honor. For every person who has hyped this game beyond what any mortal can reasonably expect I will /cry for you.

I’m going to take my sweet ass time and help people. I’m going to play with as many people as I can. I’m going to join multiple guilds, do their personal story, stop off to do jumping puzzles and I might even read those karma letters I’ll get in the mail.

I’m going to think about all the doomsayers, all the negative things said by fans of other games, all the bizarre speculation, the whining that the game isn’t out yet. I’m going to take that and bundle it up with all the normal problems and poor attitudes that come with a crowded launch. I’m going to burn them in a fire.

And then I’ll just do one more thing. With confidence, swagger, and determination.

I’m going to strut.

24 Comments

  1. I love everything about this.

    • 😀

  2. Oh YUS to every point you listed! 😀

    • 😛

  3. My thoughts too. There is so much to see and do I don’t wanna miss a thing.

    • No point in waiting years for a game and then leveling to 80 by yourself.

  4. This is the exact same thing I’m planning to do. I’m really looking forward to it!

    • Me too!

  5. Those seem like very reasonable thoughts and in-game objectives…

    Personally, I’m just going to play GW2 until my eyes bleed… get a couple hours of sleep, and then do it again… (I’m very restrained, and not at all obsessive that way…)

    • I don’t feel overly compelled to play until my eyes bleed. There’s all the time in the world.

  6. “I am going to level slower than a fundie christian at science camp” ROFL. Me too, although no doubt WvW will prove to be an incentive for many people to rush through the game. For that reason, I think this linking of PvE with WvW is a bit of a weakness, but can’t really suggest a good way that they could have avoided it.

    • Honestly I think some of the other non-pve incentives will be what people go for, not the minimal 2% crafting bonus etc.

  7. I have said it from the start, I’m going to take my sweet ass time to explore absolutely everything in this game!!! We’ve all been waiting sooo long for it I want to enjoy every part. And I too will be levelling a few diff characters…… Ohh geebuz…….. I can’t wait!!!

    • There just nothing like savouring something you’ve waited a long time for.

  8. I always have issues with taking my time. I’ll do that the second time around, its like delaying watching the superbowl till you get home. The chances of some dick saying something that’s going to spoil it for me just gets bigger and bigger.

    I’ve taken 4 days off work (spaced out over two weeks – built in recovery time), and I’ve prepaired the house to be able to cope without me for a while. I don’t have forever, but I aint going to kill myself. Unfortunately the earliest I could get off by the time they announced the game was from the 30th…

    Once I get the gist with a first run through, then I’ll start the next of many toons and take my sweat arse time – and enjoy it even more. The hard bits going to be deciding on PVP or PVE first? Probably do a bit of both. I think leaving the PVP to last makes it really hard to catch up. I loose in the end anyway, but I can pretend to be with it for a while. RL rules me out really in the end. I think I just decided on doing PVE first…

    Just thinking that making a PVP only character in wvwvw would be most viable from the start…

    argh, the choice!

    • Fortunately I don’t have to choose between pvp and pve, I’m just not that into it so wvw and pvp are secondary priorities at best.

  9. Amen. I’m really hoping that for a good portion of the player base, this time its all about “playing the game” and not racing for max level.

    • That won’t be the case I’m afraid, some people will just go to 80 and leave the game forever.

  10. +1

    Just going to play and have a load of fun. Already have over 100 hours in BETA and every one of them was a joy. Can’t wait now for release, I will put in lots of hours but will be savoring everyone like you.

    Myth. 😀

    • Yeah I can’t imagine how much time I already have with beta weekends, stress tests and the like.

  11. What, am I the only person that actually read the karma letters? I’ll be the person hanging around the lower levels following NPCs around, seeing just how many different events happen in the asuran school, and just having a fun time. I may also follow random players and communicate only via emotes.. something that usually freaks people out in most games, but in GW2 will probably be fairly common, at least the following part. As I’ll be on the RP server, should be interesting.

    • Yeah I’m pretty sure you are. Usually they just recap what you’ve already done so it feels too redundant. Sometimes theres a funny letter but we’ll see if I read them all.

      • I read the amount at the bottom, does that count?

  12. […] Hunter’s Insight — Strut. “I’m going to take my sweet ass time. Once Guild Wars 2 releases for pre-purchasers on August 25th, I am going to level slower than a fundie christian at science camp. I’ll be leveling a few characters at a time, stopping off to see any little thing that catches my interest. I’ll be that hyper-active dog that catches an unfamiliar scent and runs off in pursuit.” […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

