New Additions to the Beta Weekend Event

July 16, 2012 at 4:44 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 8 Comments
Tags: , ,

Arenanet just posted a blog on what will be new to players in the July 20th beta weekend. Some little things, some big, lots to think about.

Skipping the obvious, starting up new asura and sylvari characters and visiting 3 new zones, the first thing that grabs my eye is that we’re finally getting to see some activities.

The Keg Brawl will be active. One of the first features we got to see via the Anet blog were the activities and we were promised 4 or 5 per city. Over the past year and more however we’ve heard very little. I was actually starting to get worried. Keg Brawl is one of the activities they talked about in the early days so that is reassuring. It’s been previously described as the norn version of basketball. Basically you fight over a number of kegs and whoever gets the most, wins. Can’t wait to try it out.

Another more minor addition appears to be something called vistas. They appear to be similar to points of interest, a checklist of places to visit in a particular map. More for completionists and screenshot takers I guess.

I’m not a big PvPer but I love the look of the PvP maps. Just running around inside them is kinda fun. They’re a whole bunch of beautiful packed into a relatively small area. Plus you kill people! Anyway a map based on the original Guild Wars involving The Great Northern Wall sounds incredible.

As for this World versus World sentries thing. I’m glad that Arenanet is putting a host of things to do in WvW. You can PvP, take on PvE objectives like killing supply caravans or recruiting NPC mobs, you can gather and craft or go do jumping puzzles, and you can grab the Orb of Power, etc. But I’m a little concerned these sentries sound like busy work. Maybe they’re great, I don’t know, I haven’t tried them out. Something worthy of testing I’m sure.

The only other thing I’d care to comment on is that our characters are going to be deleted. I was definitely planning on visiting Rata Sum and The Grove with my engineer and then finally hitting a dungeon. I guess the dungeon isn’t happening unless there is some leveling NPC I haven’t encountered.

8 Comments

  1. I see they’re happy with only internal testing for 80% of their game. I was sort of happy to let all those players with masses of time test it for me. I suppose they still will they just won’t start their sentence with “I suppose it’s ok since we’re in beta still”.
    I think, so long as I don’t get sick I’ll be able to putter around for a good 8 hours this time. So I happy to test too! I still looking toward to it. They are obviously most worried about those first few hours of game play were everyone is lvl 1. Not sure why since they’ll all be prepurchasers and committed to the game anyway. Suppose theres lots of reviewers in there too but you’d think the majority would come later.

    • Yeah I don’t know, its not like you could cover 80 levels in a weekend anyway. Maybe a few video game zombie types could pull a 72 hour marathon but it wouldn’t test things out very well.

      I was reading a while back that a great number of people only play the first 10 levels to check out a game, so testing the front end is paramount.

  2. Confirmed: character wipe before BW3.

    • Yeah. It’s a shame, I was looking forward to playing the dungeon but that isn’t going to happen.

      • IMHO, they want a massive zerg at the 5 starter areas for stress test.

  3. eh… a pretty good portion of my weekend was going to be spent tinkering with asura and sylvari character creation options… other than that I’d like to get a ranger to 15 to complete my personal experimenting with all of the professions, and then just “check in” on necro and engineer in the Mists to see what changes have been made since the last BWE… so, the character wipe won’t affect me personally but, I am sorry to hear you won’t be able to check out the AC30 dungeon like you wanted to… it won’t take you too long after the launch to get there though.

    • I’d love to check in on every single profession and the like but I’m hopefully going to concentrate on just playing with friends and stuff. Testing doesn’t seem like much of a priority for me at this point.

  4. […] Hunter’s Insight — New Additions to the Beta Weekend Event. “Arenanet just posted a blog on what will be new to players in the July 20th beta weekend. Some little things, some big, lots to think about. Skipping the obvious, starting up new asura and sylvari characters and visiting 3 new zones, the first thing that grabs my eye is that we’re finally getting to see some activities.” […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

