An Ocean Of Bloody Bargains

June 25, 2012 at 6:46 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 12 Comments
Tags: , ,

Guild Wars 2 hasn’t really made a secret of the fact that they are going to merchandize the hell out of the game. You’ve got the insane $150 Collector’s Edition, the Rytlock Plushie, various books, and more recently the mouse and headset from Steel Series.

Plus I’ve speculated a bit about authenticators.

That’s all fine and good, but one thing I’ve been looking out for is a simple, fun, Guild Wars 2 t-shirt. Now don’t get me wrong, Guild Wars had some okay t-shirts, but I never felt compelled to buy them. They were a bit plain in my opinion, a bit uninspired and did not reflect the game in a way that I feel nerdy t-shirts should.

I like shirts that portray a bit of clever referencing, wit, or insider knowledge. This is my Star Trek shirt.

Now we have seen some Guild Wars 2 t-shirts, mostly showing off big logos or concept art or both. None of which tempt me. I want to be a fan, not a walking billboard for your product.

So what is my point? I’m hoping that Guild Wars 2 will work with thinkgeek, Jinx, Penny Arcade, or any number of other t-shirt companies to create some nerdy t-shirts that aren’t so loud and glaringly obvious as the ones we’ve seen.

Of course, this is all a little early. All the really good shirts come after the game population hits a critical mass and people have begun experiencing the same trials and forming their own slang and joking about the same ordeals.

That said, my early suggestion would be shirts based on the various profession icons. Though I do admit the engineer icon might take some explaining.

I’d definitely buy a Thief t-shirt.

12 Comments

  1. Oooooh, an Elementalist J!NX shirt would be awesome! I might even get a Ranger one too, those are my two favorite classes on the game (so far). Even tho I don’t play WoW for years now, I still want to buy some of J!NX’s Horde shirts, nobody makes shirts more impressive then they do.

    Just make it black; as much as I love the white brand design for Guild Wars 2, I don’t wear white, it’s not my style.

    • Jinx is definitely the place to go for WoW shirts. Huge array of stuff, I have at least a half dozen shirts from there, monty python, star wars, hhgttg.

    • See, I hate black. So many gamer shirts are black.

  2. thats a good point wanting to be a fan , not a poster.
    i would like one with just the clean UI – no background and maybe only the line of weapon skills.

    • The UI? That’s an interesting preference. Don’t think I’ve seen a shirt like that for other games.

  3. Class shirts would be awesome in their subtlety and “fan-ness”. If they would just stylize the symbols a little, that would be perfect.

    • Stylized how? I’d be fine with them the way they are, but I’m open to changes.

    • They are much better than others (“ladies of tyria” being the lamest) and way better than ordinary game tshirts, but still have logo on them and rest is not really game related – if it did not have logo and class name on it, it would just seem like yet another random design. Way too subtle in one direction and not subtle at all in another.

      Why are tshirts that only fan would recognize as having something to do with game so rare? Why do most game related wearables look like metal-band shirts or brand someone as way too obvious fanboy?

      • I’m fine with it only being recognized by other players of the same game, I like subtlety.

  4. I wish they would make more in line with the “Guild Wars “Charr” Artist Series T-shirt”

    Still one of my favourite shirts to wear

    • If that’s the shirt I’m thinking of, I don’t want more shirts like that personally. Just my opinion.

  5. […] Hunter’s Insight — An Ocean Of Bloody Bargains. “Guild Wars 2 hasn’t really made a secret of the fact that they are going to merchandize the hell out of the game. You’ve got the insane $150 Collector’s Edition, the Rytlock Plushie, various books, and more recently the mouse and headset from Steel Series.” […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

