Largos

May 21, 2012 at 10:09 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 9 Comments
Tags: , , ,

An undead Largos 3d model.

I am by no means a lore expert or the first person to see a race of people in the Guild Wars 2 beta called the Largos. But I did happen by an event in Snowden Drifts that involved one and I’m intrigued.

They have (it looks like) wings, are bent on deadly challenges, and disappear without a trace.

This is the only screenshot I was able to take at “The Kodan Claw” event. A “Largos Assassin” is trying to assassinate the military leader of the kodan village. From the dialogue it seems he’s doing it merely for the challenge. Upon helping the Claw and defeating the Largos, it curled itself up into a vortex and blipped seemingly out of existence. An ability I’m assuming is attributed to stealth, but I suppose I can’t rule out some form of teleport.

Yes I know, I feel like I’m the guy who takes blurry pictures of Bigfoot.

What intrigues me about the Largos is essentially that it’s an entirely new race. One we’ve heard nothing about officially. The only information we have comes from that one event in Snowden and a few NPCs commenting about largos nearby.

They actually kind of remind me of sylvari somehow, but seeing one up close you can see hair, knife-ears, and armour that doesn’t appear to be plant based. Initially the wings seem insectile, butterfly like. But somehow I don’t think that will be the case. It rings too much of fairies and elves.

A very enticing mystery for lore fans.

Here is the wiki page, which has little more to offer than the superior screenshot below.

Dual wielding swords.

9 Comments

  1. I notice we also do not have any lore on lizard-men we have seen in early screen-shots?

    • Hmmm not sure I know which lizardmen you’re talking about. The krait? We know a bit about them.

      • They might be different, but I just remember we have never got info on these guys.

        • Second one is definitely a krait. The first one I can’t explain but haven’t seen any trace of four armed creatures. Some variation on a krait or something?

  2. Is Arenanet leave discoverable mysteries for us to find? If that I the case this has me deeply interested. Can. You imagine if you and other players had to pool together your knowledge to figure out what they are, where they are from and what they’re up to? A community effort if y ou will. IDK but the possibility is tantalizing.

    • Desires edit button. Sorry for bad typing on the iPad keyboard.

    • It’s part of what makes world feel alive, including things that aren’t necessary or predictable or even desired, but there and interesting and fun for those who would like it. Mysteries are fun.

  3. […] Hunter’s Insight — Largos. “I am by no means a lore expert or the first person to see a race of people in the Guild Wars 2 beta called the Largos. But I did happen by an event in Snowden Drifts that involved one and I’m intrigued. They have (it looks like) wings, are bent on deadly challenges, and disappear without a trace.” […]

  4. […] Largos NBI: What not to do Loreclaw expanse […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

