How Big Is Guild Wars 2 Again?

May 5, 2012 at 8:28 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 15 Comments
Tags: , ,

It’s big. It’s really big.

I saw this image on Reddit, and it’s pretty damn cool. There was no NDA so I don’t think it’s clear whether this is a leak or not.

User that_shaman grabbed the world map file (or got it from someone who did) from the beta client, and spliced in the outposts from the original Guild Wars along with a few points of interest.

If you take a close look at the map you’ll find 6 giant city maps, about 25 zones, and a single other zone that doesn’t appear to be either. Judging by my own experience in multiple zones in the weekend beta, each zone is enormous.

I timed a run from the west side of Queensdale to the east. Now obviously there isn’t exactly a lot of straight paths, and there are plenty of mobs, but it took me about 5 minutes 10 seconds.

On another level, I don’t think it matters much how physically big the zones are. It feels big, that’s all that matters.

The unfogged world map.

15 Comments

  1. See what I mean about unused real estate!? I’m really hoping they decide to do some dlc bonus mission pack, sorrows furnace, type stuff with it. To me it just really looks like they were planning ahead for something along those lines.

    • Well if the original Guild Wars is anything to go by, and I think it is, just because there are spaces between zones, or space far to the north or whatever, it doesn’t necessarily mean Arenanet is going to fill them in. That said it’s a new game entirely so who knows.

  2. I think ther is a lot of space for future expansions… and an entire new continent that this map don’t show.

    I know we have teleport points… but I want mounts…

    • You’re preaching to the choir about mounts. I love mounts. I want a mount.

    • The only game I played with mounts was LOTRO. There were vast spaces with nothing happening, no people, no quests, nothing. Some things seemed to be spread out too far. It seemed like it was this way specifically to make the mounts work.

      Personally I would rather have a tighter game without mounts. I don’t like taking a lot of time to go from place to place. Anyway, mounts don’t seem to work in a game with teleports.

      • Well as I’ve said many times on the blog, mounts aren’t necessarily about travel, they’re about having a companion, a flashy possession to show off, and speed boosts. After playing gw2 I don’t see why we wouldn’t have mounts. LOTRO is enormous but I don’t think they made it enormous just to make mounts matter.

        • One of my first thoughts upon exploring Tyria is that it could totally support mounts, and it wouldn’t prevent me from stopping to take part in events. Some of my fondest moments in gaming were acquiring Epona in Zelda and my first mount in WoW, followed by my second and my third…I was very happy when the cat mounts were unlocked for humans, as well. The only thing I see as an issue is the charr aren’t really suited for a horse, neither culturally or physically. But maybe someone has some ideas.

          • I’m sure we could fit some of the races on different racial mounts or make some types of mounts that might not seem fit for a race, more fit than people believe.

  3. I just love that most of the things from the GW1 map that we’ve seen in GW2 are in the same locations (even if ruined, or underwater).

    • If I’m nitpicking, they’re a bit off according to this guys map, but, I still love it.

  4. Minor correction. The map shows 25 non-city zones (not counting the little island north of the battle isles, which is technically a zone afaik, just very small.

    • You are correct, not sure what I was thinking when I typed that. I’m getting dyslexic or something in my old age.

  5. […] Via: Hunter's Insight […]

  6. […] Big Is Guild Wars 2 Again? May7 by Nicole How Big Is Guild Wars 2 Again? « Hunter’s Insight – A Guild Wars 2 Blog. Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was […]

  7. […] Hunter’s Insight — How Big Is Guild Wars 2 Again? “It’s big. It’s really big. I saw this image on Reddit, and it’s pretty damn cool. There was no NDA so I don’t think it’s clear whether this is a leak or not. User that_shaman grabbed the world map file (or got it from someone who did) from the beta client, and spliced in the outposts from the original Guild Wars along with a few points of interest.” […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

