Coo! Pretty

May 3, 2012 at 9:11 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 11 Comments
Tags: , ,

A quaggan in it’s hulked out form.

I found that often while playing through Guild Wars 2 I would talk to myself. Very rarely do you get to play a game where you are surprised or impressed as often as I was.

It was the scale of World Versus World, it was poison slipping over the edge of a reservoir, it was the compensated threat mitigation associate, or the design of skills like Rocket Turret. There were just so many moments where I paused for half a second and said, “Oh, cool.”

One of those moments was meeting the quaggan. Moogooloo village to be precise. It wasn’t so much their names, or the design of their villages. And they were much smaller than I had envisioned, only coming up to my waist.

But my god, my god, the voice acting.

Their cuteness is unparalleled. Whoever wrote what they say, whoever directed the actors, well done. The quaggan will be far and away one of the most popular aspects of Guild Wars 2.

It’s all in the delivery. You could just mail in a line like “Coo! Quaggan likes you!” I mean how do you even portray that out of context? Yet it is delivered with such unending enthusiasm. The quaggan sound so darling, so cute, and some of what they say is almost musical. HOOooh.

I found myself just repeatedly greeting them to see what they would say next. They are big on the ooh sounds. Boo, Hoo, Moogooloo, Foo, they could not be more adorable.

Okay I’m done being a little too excited over something cute.

11 Comments

  1. favorite npc interactions from the BWE:
    – random asura saying “Excelsior!” with various tones of snobbishness, cuteness, curiosity, trepidation, boredom, dismissiveness, happiness, warmth, distractedness, and/or excitement.
    – the lady with the beehives that were threatened by bears… talking to the bear corpses after the players helped defend her beehives, “You thought you could just come in here and take my honey! But I know people… DANGEROUS people…”
    – two random humans in Lion’s Arch having a conversation;
    male 1, “It’s been awhile… how’s the family?”
    male 2, “Ah, you know… the kids are driving me nuts. My oldest is spending all his time with a sylvari and says he wants to become a gardner, and my youngest has started hanging around the charr and has decided he wants to learn how to fight dragons and ghosts!”
    male 1, “Oh man… that’s rough!”
    male 2, “Yeah! Who wants their kid to become a gardner?!?”
    ;-p
    So many others that I just can’t remember them all…

    • There is stuff like this absolutely everywhere you go. One of the best parts of the game.

  2. I was expecting Quaggan to be bigger for some reason. Finding out they’re pocket-sized just made me want to hug every one I met.

    • I don’t know if their size makes them any more cute or not for me, but it was a surprise.

  3. Yeah they were freakin adorable in game! I had to laugh out loud when after an event I checked a quaggan (karma) seller and saw they listed items such as “OoooOo Spear”, “OoOoO Gun” and “ooooooO Spear” 😉

    • Yeah those weapon names are hilarious. Plenty of laugh out loud moments with them.

  4. They are especially cute on land, love how they huff and puff when they run around.

    • Cute all around!

  5. […] Hunter’s Insight — Coo! Pretty. “I found that often while playing through Guild Wars 2 I would talk to myself. Very rarely do you get to play a game where you are surprised or impressed as often as I was. It was the scale of World Versus World, it was poison slipping over the edge of a reservoir, it was the compensated threat mitigation associate, or the design of skills like Rocket Turret. There were just so many moments where I paused for half a second and said, ‘Oh, cool.’” […]

  6. There NEEDS to be an event where a pack of them goes Hulk on something. NEEDS TO BE.

    • Yeah I can say I’m hoping to see that. Hopefully quaggan are prevalent throughout the game.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

