Beta Weekend Event

April 18, 2012 at 5:06 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 20 Comments
Tags: , ,

Guild Wars 2 has announced the first beta open to everyone who pre-purchased a copy of the game. It will take place April 27-29th. There is an upcoming blog post from Arenanet that should give more details but I wanted to review some of the things people should expect.

As seen in the press beta events, we’ll likely be limited to low level areas, and only 3 races. The press seem to have been limited to Queensdale and Kessex Hills for the humans, Wayfarer Hills and Snowden Drifts for the norn, and Plains of Ashford and Diessa Plateau for the charr. I don’t expect this to change much.

As for why they’re holding back asura and sylvari, it is perhaps due to their wanting to hold something back to retain the interest of fans but more likely that they just aren’t as polished as what will be available in the beta. In the unlikely event that they are apart of the beta, something I and a number of others have noticed, due to this map, is that the sylvari and asura will either share a level 15-25 zone or the sylvari will share Kessex Hills with the humans.

The client will likely be something around 12 gigs in size as seen with previous betas. How large the actual game will be remains to be seen.

We’ll likely have a choice to make in servers. My hope is that Arenanet will announce the names of servers so that we may organize with our friends to play together. Server names during the press beta were Yak’s Bend, Borliss Pass, and Anvil Rock. An homage to the original game.

One thing I noticed from some videos was a crazy crush of people all doing the same events in the low level areas. An unintended side effect of letting a bunch of people all in at once. I hope nobody makes judgments based on that sort of mass hysteria.

We’ll also likely see some small to medium sized changes based on feedback from previous beta events. Impossible to guess at of course but certain to draw attention.

Arenanet likes to provide something new with each major release of information, I’m confident this will remain true with the BWE but again I can’t guess at what that might be.

Other than that I don’t think we’ll see many surprises thanks to the extensive video and press coverage of the press events. What will be different is that there will be no NDA, and everyone will finally be able to play together and be honest about what we’re experiencing and I’m sure many people including myself will be blogging about that.

20 Comments

  1. I’m certain you’re correct about the asura and sylvari just needing a bit more “polish” and I’m hoping that at some point they will be included in a BWE prior to launch so that we can experiment with the character creation options available for those two races and have some idea of how we want our characters to look before the official launch day arrives.
    It really would be nice to get info on the servers being used, as you suggested and for the reasons you gave, but I would also like to know if the beta will be divided between NA and EU. I’d like an opportunity to log onto an “EU” server to test out how the game is doing under those most difficult of circumstances (ping-wise) and how viable it will be to play with friends I’ve made across the pond.
    .
    Only a week and half to go before I finally get a chance to experience some of this game first-hand.
    *snoopy happy dance*

    • It would be nice to know how the server structure and whatnot is going to be setup certainly. It feels like we’re going in blind.

  2. Exciting! I can’t wait to see which profession I take a liking to! Want to do some serious ping testing too, see if battleping and such are going to save me again.
    The music I so look forward to that too. seeing if an upgrade is needed or not for the hardware.
    I want to see if it’s really not a grind, that it feels different, is this a game for the next few years or just a few months? I want to see how the books influence things and how I cope standing next to Char. I’d also like to see how we are going to come together to play. I have many disprarte friends probably choosing separate servers so it’ll be hard. Hopefully have some fun too!

    • You can check out a lot of the music on youtube, there is plenty of material already available as far as that goes.

  3. I wouldn’t worry too much about the Asura and Sylvari, and I suspect it’s really more the surprise factor but that’s all I have to say about that. We definitely won’t be seeing them this weekend, in part to save some surprises for us in later BWEs. I wouldn’t even be surprised if they hold off until the last BWE (if then) just based on what they said about not wanting to spoil everything.

    For most us, it’s already a big deal to be getting our hands on the game. And since our time is limited, if we have too many options, we may spend too much time exploring them and not enough time playing. I already caught myself planning out how I would fill my five slots for beta, and realized, it’s just a few days at a time. I need to pace myself or I won’t be setting foot in Tyria. Personally I don’t think it would be a bad idea for limit the number of character slots, too, but people would probably get too angsty about that for a number of reasons.

    I’m sure there will be all sorts of angst about the absence of the asura and sylvari as it is. Some people are even worried they won’t be available at launch just because they haven’t been in public betas. Bunch of Chicken Littles out there, though I guess I can kind of understand the concern in light of controversies over other games coming out this year.)

    Regardless, I’m not worried. Except about possibly needing a 6th slot in case I have a change of heart and decide to make a sylvari after they finally are shown in all their glory.

    • Yeah I’m not worried about them, just noting that they probably won’t be in the beta. Also i’m definitely planning a lot also, picking out storylines and hairstyles and what not. I doubt i’ll spend much time in the character creator as a result, I want to be out there playing.

      • It does sound like they will be in a future beta at some point though based on today’s blog post, and we get to see Lion’s Arch for the first time this go around. I had a feeling something new would be available. I wouldn’t be surprised if there wasn’t something new each time to make every event special.

  4. Actually…
    1] Martin Kerstein confirmed on Twitter that every race has it’s own starter zone – the asura have “Metrica Province”, the sylvari have “Caledon Forest”.
    He also clarified at the same time that a lot of the infamous map-shot is fogged out, hence people speculating wrongly.
    2] The physical GameInformer magazine that just hit the news-stands includes an detailed HANDS-ON report of the sylvari starting experience, so I wouldn’t count them out of the BWE yet. ^_^

    • Oh I’m well aware each race has it’s own starter zone but as I indicated in the post I was talking about the level 15-25 zones. Norn, human, and charr all appear to have a second beginner zone starting at 15, but if you look at that map that I linked there doesn’t appear to be two for sylvari/asura.

  5. I can’t speak for the sylvari starting area but I assume the asura parts were not released because Zojja’s voice work wasn’t finished (based on Felica Day’s tweet about being in the recording studio last week or so for GW2).

    • Well you never know, maybe her voice work for the early levels is already done and she was working on later levels or something.

  6. Where did you hear/read that there would be no NDA?

    • This has been stated several times by various DEVs in interviews, but I believe the most recent occurence was a tweet from Rubi Bayer in her capacity as a CM for ArenaNet.

      • It was also stated that folks participating in the BWE (April 27-29) could share screenshots, take FRAPs, and even livestream. There should be quite a bit of video being shared to accompany opinions about the beta experience.

        • Thanks. I haven’t caught up on interviews yet an I don’t get twitter. Good news though. I was hoping I could at least take screenies. Maybe I’ll look into a video program.

    • Yes, what archer has outlined. They’ve mentioned in various places.

  7. I really hope my laptop will be able to handle the game. I have been looking forward to playing GW2 for a long time. Now I have to be away from home for several months, and finally the game is starting to roll out.

  8. […] Hunter’s Insight — Beta Weekend Event. “Guild Wars 2 has announced the first beta open to everyone who pre-purchased a copy of the game. It will take place April 27-29th. There is an upcoming blog post from Arenanet that should give more details but I wanted to review some of the things people should expect. As seen in the press beta events, we’ll likely be limited to low level areas, and only 3 races. The press seem to have been limited to Queensdale and Kessex Hills for the humans, Wayfarer Hills and Snowden Drifts for the norn, and Plains of Ashford and Diessa Plateau for the charr. I don’t expect this to change much.” [Raphia: Good prognostication in advance of the details.] […]

  9. Just a tip for you all here. The beta forums are up, so far only with the announcement forum visible. And there is a getting started topic, which links to cloudfront.guildwars2.com/client/Gw2.exe

    That’s right, you can start predownloading for the BWE:)

    • Yeah I saw the reddit thread, but I’m not eager to start downloading anything unofficially.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

