Official Forums

March 15, 2012 at 4:00 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 12 Comments
Tags: , ,

Guild Wars had no official forums. Arenanet relied on a number of unofficial fan forums to disseminate their message. This had good points and bad. It helped foster a community outside the game, but for any fan site that didn’t receive direct contact from Arenanet community reps, it meant they were not the place to go.

I always thought the last part did more bad than good. And if you were not a fan of the sometimes negative atmosphere in some places Arenanet chose to tread, you were pretty much out of luck.

That’s why I’m glad Guild Wars 2 will have official forums.

Let me point out the two biggest changes in the ways we interact with our communities between the original Guild Wars and Guild Wars 2 right up front: we will have official forums, and we will not have a traditional fansite program.

It certainly removes any hint of favouritism or collusion or an elite crowd that may have reared its head over the years, but mostly I’m glad because it will bring everyone together in one obvious spot.

I’m sure the reasoning has more to do with the fact that Guild Wars 2 looks like it is going to be huge and the reps just don’t have the time to monitor and interact with outside forums. They’ll have more control over the message and the conduct of forum goers.

I guess what I’m really wondering about is what their plans are for places like our blogs, Guild Wars 2 Live, GuildMag, or even lolcharr. They’re not having a traditional fansite program, fine, but they don’t quite lay out the plan for what they are doing. They mention specialized forums and the wiki. They’ve long spoken of their Extended Experience but we don’t know how far that goes yet.

My guess is they’re continuing what they have been doing. They see something cool, they tweet it. Maybe they’ll post about it on facebook, forums, or some other venue. It’s basic and it works.

12 Comments

  1. I’m pretty pleased with official forums. I don’t think it’ll be the death of places like GW2G and GWO, but it’ll certainly be nice to have an official forum to go to, especially if you’ve got questions or a problem. That way you know it’ll get to the ears/eyes of the people who need to see it, which is helpful.

    • Official forums can both be a good and a bad thing, I’ve seen really bad official forums, but i’ve got faith arenanet will handle it correctly.

  2. Awesome. I was really hoping something to this effect would take place. Unofficial sites like Guru are great, but an official site is perfect for clarification from Anet. 🙂

    • I’m sure guru will maintain some level of popularity anyway. But I’m glad as well.

  3. I have mixed feelings about this, but they’re mostly positive. I agree that it is nice to bring everyone together to an official place, but so much of the community grew up around this grassroots campaign of unofficial sites. While each had its own flavor, it is nice to not have to keep track of a dozen sites all the time.

    Fan sites will still exist. I will still have my blog. My biggest curiosity is what ANet will offer on their site. I would love to have a section where I can post information about my characters and show off my achievements. It would fit nicely into their extended experience. Something like what Guild Wars Arnapou does for GW, but with more bells and whistles would be nice.

    • It is nice to not have to keep track of different forums, although i do feel bad the unofficial forums out there now have a major roadblock, particulalry smaller forums.

  4. The little places like this well continue to go out, get the blue text, and add to it. That’s what a community does, it doesn’t hang around and whinge trying to fish for a blue comment.
    I never liked the massive gwg forums, it was all too much, liked the equal of the blue post section where people just put in what the GW people said. That was it. In fact that was one of the reasons I came here, Hunter was always able to find the good stuff.
    To me it was a disappointing post that talked very little about its title, sure its important to have your own forum but that’s hardly community is it? Yes, it important to not accidentially let a LOL community form but what else?
    When am I going to see Ruby again, are we going to see you in game as a Frog? How does community form in game? What’s my community in game? I’d say these are the hard questions to answer for a game. I also don’t see a lot of take from other games when it comes to community either.
    WOW I think did some good in the last few patches with its guilds, giving guild bonuses such that it was a negative not to be in one. However, then getting people to actually do something together is a step they haven’t managed yet! I am almost of the leaning that you’d pay them extra gold if they complete quests/missions/dungeons while with team mates!

    I cant tell you how awesome it was to meet Gale as a frog accidentally one day, it was a highlight.

    • I did find the post had a lot of vague promises that people seemed to overlook in favour of the positive message they were trying to get across. Not a lot of details or specifics but that really wasn’t what they were trying to do anyway.

  5. […] Hunter’s Insight — Official Forums. “Guild Wars had no official forums. Arenanet relied on a number of unofficial fan forums to disseminate their message. This had good points and bad. It helped foster a community outside the game, but for any fan site that didn’t receive direct contact from Arenanet community reps, it meant they were not the place to go. I always thought the last part did more bad than good. And if you were not a fan of the sometimes negative atmosphere in some places Arenanet chose to tread, you were pretty much out of luck.” […]

  6. I just find it interesting how elsewhere so many fans are telling ANet not to do it. I mean, it’s their game. That, and there’s a lot of talking down to people like Martin as though they aren’t a. grownups, and b. professionals. I imagine ANet will handle the forums better than most. They’ve certainly done well with FB and Twitter despite the toxic elements, and forums provide a more favorable, well, forum, for discussion than tweets and comments. I’m just curious to see how moderation is handled, like if it’s entirely in house or if there will be voluntary or even paid opportunities (I’m guessing voluntary but one can dream.)

    They are also trying to reach the widest audience possible, and many people found it strange they didn’t have an official forum before. It just seems like it should be part of the package.

    I suppose some of the negativity stems from people who feel threatened that their site will no longer be “the” site for official news, but like you said, it will help put other sites at less of a disadvantage and foster a greater sense of community.

    • I agree with what you’ve said here. I’m also curious to see how the moderation is handled, and how specifically guru2 handles the change. I’ve personally always wanted them to have official forums and been perplexed by the lack of them for guild wars for years.

  7. […] Wars 1 areas. He analyses the Pre-purchase details and gives his point of view on the thought of official forums, thinking it is a good thing because it will be more fair. Finally he commented on some […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

