Leaked Screenshots

March 14, 2012 at 6:33 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 22 Comments
Tags: , ,

I’m not really a fan of leaking stuff. It craps all over people who have actually managed to keep their mouth shut, game developers who have worked hard on their project, and community managers who are trying to keep a tight lid on things so that everyone sees everything at once.

But I’m also realistic. Once things get out there, it’s out there, and people are going to see it. I saw these on Reddit which apparently caught them on Guild Wars 2 Guru.

I've created a panorama image of all 4.

So what we have here are 3 sylvari and an asura.

The most prominent feature to take note of would be the entirely ridiculous phallic mushroom head. A hairstyle perhaps? Or bye some chance a headpiece? I can’t imagine that it will stay in the game. It’s too absurd.

I note also the skin markings on the asura forehead. Hopefully that is a customization similar to the norn tattoos.

The skin colours are impressive, I particularly like the blue sylvari, but I like that there is such a wide variety.

The armour isn’t the spectacular stuff I don’t think, mostly what looks to be low level armour, and it still looks amazing.

I like asura a lot, but I’ve never thought of them as looking all that great. That asura looks good.

The best armour here is the full-on duster that reminds me of Trigun. Any Trigun fans at Arenanet?

The background appears to be the character select screen.

I’m sure Arenanet have already caught up with the person who thought it was a good idea to share this stuff.

22 Comments

  1. I am impressed. I like the range of color for the sylvari and the detail on the asura. I agree that the mushroom hair/hat is clever and unique, but it prolly won’t last the beta. Too many immature gamers out there.

    I also like the full duster armor. It’ll look good on my engineer 🙂

    • The sylvari redesign is definitely looking more and more appealing.

      • I think the asura look better too, that asura girl looks way cuter than I had pictured them being. =3

        Still my first is gonna be a sylvari, they look so awsome and have the biggest range of color!!

        (PS- they linked your blog post on a guru post, http://www.guildwars2guru.com/forum/mushroom-head-sylvari-what-do-t32255.html?t=32255)

        • Oh thanks for the tip, I was wondering where all those hits were coming from. you can definitely make cute asura apparently.

  2. I thought we just had a press beta that they were allowed to release videos and all manner of info from? Were these images not from that?

    • They were not permitted to use their own images. Videos but not images, strange? Sure.

    • Asura and sylvari were not a part of the press beta. afaik.

      • So someone leaked this from the closed beta, or its old pic from some demo maybe? =o

        • Well I’m not going to speculate, but as I said, i don’t think asura or sylvari were actually in the closed beta. so you’ll have to draw your own conclusions.

  3. It might just be me but they look a little low quality but still amazing, I foresee many amazing costume contests in the future.

    • I agree, they do look like they were taken on a low graphics setting.

    • keep in mind the panorama i made and the wordpress library both probably degraded the quality, unless you’re talking about the original images on imgur.

  4. This might be from someone who’s a big tease of Arenanet. Leaking just to tease the internet. who know… xD
    Just this image can create ripples to entire community. ppl see it and will talk about it (or at least think about it. you know… that mushroom…)

    • If you’re saying you think arenanet had something to do with it, I doubt it.

  5. They look more like concept art or prototypes, than actual in game characters.

    • That’s just because of the background, which is based on concept art. It’s the character selection screen, i think.

  6. If nothing else it shows that you can create a good looking asuran. Which to be honest I’m not sure I like. I was kind of getting used to the idea that they had a slightly creepy, sharkish (or whatever) look to them. Is that too cute? Hmmm. I must ponder on this.

    • I like it. I don’t think any race should be the ugly race. Options are important.

      • yea and it is a female, I think most of the sharky looks are for the males. =P It might make more people play em, after all I was going to pass them up till i saw that pic.

  7. What has been seen can not be unseen. And here I was hoping there wouldn’t be any you-know-what heads in GW2. So many puns come to mind, so little awareness of language guidelines.

    On a serious note, I wonder if that asura is wearing light or medium armor. That’s how I envision my magical duelist mesmer asura but I suspect it’s medium.

    • I was wondering about the armour myself. The shiney aspect definitely suggests leather, and i think we’ve seen medium armour professions with that type of white sleeve before so my guess is medium, but I agree that a scholar set with that feel would be good.

  8. […] Hunter’s Insight — Leaked Screenshots. “I’m not really a fan of leaking stuff. It craps all over people who have actually managed to keep their mouth shut, game developers who have worked hard on their project, and community managers who are trying to keep a tight lid on things so that everyone sees everything at once. But I’m also realistic. Once things get out there, it’s out there, and people are going to see it. I saw these on Reddit which apparently caught them on Guild Wars 2 Guru.” […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

