Quick Note On Sea Of Sorrows

March 5, 2012 at 3:00 pm | Posted in Books, Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I was all set to live blog too.

This post is going to be so short it may as well have been tweeted. I was curious as to whether the release date of Sea of Sorrows had changed and went to Simon & Schuster, which own the small publisher that put out Edge of Destiny and Ghosts of Ascalon and couldn’t find anything.

I found the link in the last post I wrote about ‘Sorrows’ and it leads nowhere.

I don’t draw any conclusions from that though since if you’re going to push the release date back to February 1st, 2013, you may as well stop listing it for the time being.

I wonder what’s going on with that.

14 Comments

  1. I, of course, don’t know what is going on behind the scenes with this book, but in ArenaNet’s position I would not be releasing a solid date on it either.

    With the current climate in the GW/GW2 community, any release date for this book is going to be seen as a release date for the game. We can all say that, logically, the two are not necessarily linked, but speculation and logic are not always best of friends lately.

    Then, if the book’s release date approaches and there is nothing solid on the game’s launch, speculation will shift to, “GW2 has been delayed!” I’m sure the community team will be out there to set things straight just like they do now, but there is just no stopping all the conspiracy theories.

    Or, you know, it could be that the book is delayed because the whole game has been changed, no longer has to same storylines, will be redesigned as a first person shooter, and is set in space because the sky fell. 😛

    • It’s hard to say how much the release date for the book is tied to what arenanet is doing. Perhaps the publisher had it’s own reasons or perhaps their waiting for the game to be released or perhaps their book release schedule is tied up. There could be any number of reasons.

  2. I keep waiting for it and hoping to see it in the bookstores I frequent, but I suppose I will have to wait another year.

    • hah, yeah it originally had a release date of this month, and has been pushed back like 3 times now. so i’m somewhat disappointed.

  3. May be “The Sea of Sorrows” is so good It won’t come out as a book, but as an in-game interactive media! Giving us an Experience of the long lost Story not just by reading, but Playing in it!

    …. okay, going a little crazy here. just move along. nothing to see. lol.

    • That is a very optimistic way of looking at it.

  4. I am already of two options, the books either about the first expansion or I am really off on when we get the game. I was sort of hoping it was be 3rd quarter sometime, but I guess as always I am too optomistic.
    First two months of the year were ok to wait through for some reason. March is really dragging. I blame the ‘chance’ of a beta, someone should tell me if I am in a beta and then I either book my holidays or get busy with something; so March can be added to the history books.

    • “the books either about the first expansion or I am really off on when we get the game”
      See what I mean? And that is just with an unconfirmed date from an online store. 😉

    • Nah the book is set many years before the game, acting as a bridge. It won’t be about an expansion.

      • Yeah, so its is safe to say that the book must come out before the game? Or the book might as well not be made? Sorry, you’re going to have to drag me to Tanek’s position as I scream and cry… no wait…
        Maybe the schedules so close they can’t print enough in time so its only available in the collectors edition and the next run goes to Amazon later next year.
        There we go! Problem solved, the games coming soon, and I get my book soon too. I am happy again, though I still want the book first, by at least three weeks or it’s never going to get read in time…
        ok, here we go. They are going to do a preorder package like last time, that comes with the book… ahhh all is insane again, thank god.

        • They’ve said the game is coming out this year.

  5. I am slightly bummed about this. I actually thought the first two books were pretty good, so I was looking forward to this. It’s stupid to speculate, but I wonder if this is a book issue, a publisher issue, or a game issue.

    • I thought the first book was really quite good with the second being a little uneven. Certainly it had it’s good moments and weaknesses. The third book leaves me curious.
      I’m with you on wondering what the deal is.

  6. […] Hunter’s Insight — Quick Note on Sea of Sorrows. “This post is going to be so short it may as well have been tweeted. I was curious as to whether the release date of Sea of Sorrows had changed and went to Simon & Schuster, which own the small publisher that put out Edge of Destiny and Ghosts of Ascalon and couldn’t find anything.” […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

