Another Arenanet Update

February 21, 2012 at 2:14 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 16 Comments
Tags: , ,

Aegis in action, it blocks the next attack.

Arenanet announced Guild Wars 2 about 2 or 3 years earlier than most studios would have.  The fans were expecting news about upcoming expansions and essentially Arenanet had to explain themselves.

That means for the past 2 years we’ve benefited from constant updates but suffered through constant nerd rage calling for a release date.

Thus once again we are updated.

For instance several months ago they mentioned they were removing energy as a mechanic, to be replaced with some other long term resource.  That resource appears to be armour degradation after being defeated in game.  It’s a clever system that only punishes you after being fully defeated, and even then doesn’t seem to become a problem until you’ve been defeated multiple times.

If a player is defeated while all of their armor is damaged, then a random piece of armor will break. When armor breaks, it ceases to provide any benefit to the player and must be repaired by visiting an armor-repair NPC in town.

I’ve played games with durability mechanics before and have noticed one consistent problem.  I shouldn’t have to stop what I’m doing to run somewhere and fix my gear.  It breaks up my gameplay.  It’s inconvenient.  I’m not playing a game to do chores with NPCs.

That said I don’t have a big problem with it.  If they feel like they need a gold sink, fine I guess.  A good death penalty can be a fine motivator.

Following that update, and no disrespect to the compass information, but the next update are these meta events.  We know events chain from one to another, but meta events are that idea made larger, extending across the zone.

A meta-event can cover a much larger region than a standard event might; you could as much as a quarter of the map thrown into turmoil by a meta-event!

The zones of Guild Wars 2 are kind of large in my estimation.  That seems impressive.

I really want to see one of the jumping puzzles.  Anet, make a trailer.

Whether you are fighting off bandits or using the broken remnants of the Great Northern Wall to climb to a hidden chest, we think you’ll find these areas to be both fun and formidable.

The Great Northern Wall as a jumping puzzle.  Genius.

I’ve yet to see any videos of anyone tackling a jumping puzzle but if you’ve seen one, let me know in the comments.  Oh and one link per comment or my spam filter will catch you.

Other than those updates there was also a ton of information on changes to boons and conditions.  But to be honest I’m not the type to take great note of these kinds of details.  When I’m in a game and I’ve got conditions on me, I don’t start doing the math of how much damage is being done.  I just go into instinct mode to determine the threat.  My experience goes something like “Badness!  Get rid of the badness!  Make goodness!  Heal!”

That said I think this is cool.

For instance, since vigor and weakness manipulate endurance, the endurance bar UI should reflect this. And because poison affects heals, your healing skill should look different when you are poisoned.

So thanks for updating us Arenanet, we know you don’t have to.  But you did anyway.

16 Comments

  1. I’m really glad they went for the durability as punishment method, as opposed to just having armour degrade with use – I’d sink thousands into making sure that whenever I left town, every single piece of armour was completely repaired. This way, for the most part, I can avoid it – and if I do have to repair it, it’s my own damn fault and I’ll have to be better next time! 😀

    • I’d have to agree. As long as I’m not having to go to repair guys constantly I’ll be happy. I just hope those repair guys are everywhere.

  2. Just in from the Facebook

    A big thanks for following us on Facebook! We have a surprise for you tomorrow, so keep an eye on our social networks and website and tell your friends to follow us, too! ~RB
    Hmmm what could it be?

    • Yeah I saw that, probably more beta information. I suspect beta may be available to everyone, and when I say everyone, I mean everyone.

  3. Sorry I haven’t seen any of the jumping puzzles, I can’t say I am a fan of them either. I do like the meta-events; just don’t make it seem like wow please with their quest hubs telling a story – which is the same every friggen time… I was hoping to avoid that in gw2.

    • I don’t think we can expect guild wars 2 to never repeat anything wow did but I’m hoping I don’t care when they do.

  4. http://gw2videos.com/footage/guru-doing-a-jumping-puzzle/

    • Thank you.


  5. Jumping puzzle 😀

    • Well spotted Melski & Kanootcha!

    • And thank you sir.

  6. Great to see that they’re still innovating … Little details …. being able to drag the map in your compass to show nearby areas is really handy since you don’t have to constantly open your main map. That’s one I’ll really appreciate.

    • I can’t say i’d use that a lot but it probably is very handy to people who like it. I can imagine a lot of people missing the old U map from gw,

      • u map was awesome espcially in dungeons and callanges. if people want u, u it should be really…

  7. […] Hunter’s Insight — Another ArenaNet Update. “Arenanet announced Guild Wars 2 about 2 or 3 years earlier than most studios would have. The fans were expecting news about upcoming expansions and essentially Arenanet had to explain themselves. That means for the past 2 years we’ve benefited from constant updates but suffered through constant nerd rage calling for a release date. Thus once again we are updated.” […]

  8. […] Hunter’s Insight: Another ArenaNet update, Jumping Puzzle and All the cool kids like Guild Wars 2 […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

