Arenanet Fattens Up

February 2, 2012 at 8:18 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 11 Comments
Tags: , ,

As Arenanet increases testing and plans beta events, the strain on their community managers must be taking a toll. I can’t imagine how busy they are going to be in the weeks just before launch and the long haul of maintaining a hit game.

Thus the addition of new talent at Arenanet in that regard. Rubi Bayer has left Massively, and indeed GuildCast, for a job at Arenanet. I’m not familiar with Aidan Taylor and Melanie Corolleur, but they appear to have been announced on Facebook a few days ago as the European counterparts to the team.

They’re going to need the help once they start announcing more controversial features. The cash shop is just plain not going to be received well by the community. I don’t know what is in it, I don’t know what the community will react badly to, but I do assume there is going to be rage. Lots and lots of rage.

You need even-tempered souls to deal with gamers. We can act like the most ill-behaved children and often are ill-behaved children. Good luck to Arenanet in regards to that.

It seems clear that Guild Wars 2 will be a big hit, and I had wondered if Regina, Martin, and Stephane would need help. Their opinion seems to be in the affirmative.

More community managers only means good things for the Guild Wars 2 community. Grats to all.

11 Comments

  1. Poor Guildcast, it’s going to have a tough time of it now; I’ll also miss her weekly write ups. I hope she starts writing up, weekly, from Anet.

    Indeed congratulations to the others as well; I’d like that sort of job too but I suspect the pay isn’t that great so maybe not.

    Hiring companies are always great to be in, it’s when you don’t see new blood coming in that you know things aren’t so good.

    Go Anet.

    • Well I don’t doubt shawn will have an easy time looking for replacements, elixabeth seems to have been on the latest episode.

  2. I can’t help speculating on the very good possibilities associated with the timing of these hires… soon… very soon…
    (well, everything is relative… when you’ve been waiting for years, a couple more months feels like it’s just around the corner.)
    .
    ANet certainly does an excellent job of selecting folks for their CM positions. I’ve been incredibly impressed with the work Martin and Regina have done to date, and Rubi will be an excellent addition to the group.
    There’s something to be said for unrelenting, indomitable, cheerfull optimism, and an almost “hobbit-like” pleasantness. Even an old curmudgeon like myself can’t help but be impressed.

    • “I can’t help speculating on the very good possibilities associated with the timing of these hires… soon… very soon…”
      – My thoughts exactly! 😉

      I need to head over to Facebook, apparently, and read if there’s more information on the new EU CMs.

      And I don’t even want to think about the shop. Baaah. Though as long as it’s not going into the Lotro-direction, I’ll be happy. 😉

      • Apparently they’re ncsoft employees from the eu region and since gw2 is the new big ncsoft product they’re probably just moving on from aion to takeover some duties.

    • I mostly attribute the timing to the upcoming beta events, although I’m sure the release is on their minds.

      • Ah… very possible. There will certainly be a lot of CM work associated with the beta tests.
        Perhaps I’m allowing my eagerness to take my line sight further into the future than is justified.

  3. […] Hunter’s Insight — ArenaNet Fattens Up. “As ArenaNet increases testing and plans beta events, the strain on their community managers must be taking a toll. I can’t imagine how busy they are going to be in the weeks just before launch and the long haul of maintaining a hit game. Thus the addition of new talent at ArenaNet in that regard. Rubi Bayer has left Massively, and indeed GuildCast, for a job at Arenanet. I’m not familiar with Aidan Taylor and Melanie Corolleur, but they appear to have been announced on Facebook a few days ago as the European counterparts to the team.” […]

  4. I think people have worked a lot of angst out of their systems already regarding the cash shop. There will be those who continue to complain or make doomsday predictions once the specifics are announced (if observing how it works in GW1, hasn’t shut them up, nothing will…we could be years in, and they will still be at it.) Then you’re left with the people who worry about having to pay to win and those of us who are already at ease. I imagine the former group will be mostly be relieved once the specifics are released and unless they go against prior promises, the latter group will remain at ease.

    There may be an initial community flare up the way there almost always is, but I think things will otherwise be business as usual and it will be easier for them to address concerns once they have specifics to address rather than attempting to reassure us with vague promises as they’ve had to in the past regarding this already contentious issue.

    • I disagree, I think they’re just getting started.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

