Portal Too

November 13, 2011 at 6:09 pm | Posted in rpg | 12 Comments
Tags: , ,

Here are the test results: You are a horrible person. I'm serious, that's what it says: A horrible person. We weren't even testing for that.

Yes. I have played Portal 2 too! It was fun.

I think the most improved aspect even when the first Portal was a triumph, a huge success, was the writing. The original Portal was snappy, funny, interesting, and tightly written. Portal 2 is no slouch in this area and turned up the dial to 11. There are few game franchises that can claim to be truly funny, and this is one of them.

That said one of the few problems with Portal 2 I had was that it sort of drags on at some point. The tests after recovering from the big fall just got excessive. I was getting tired of it. I think perhaps there were too many puzzles of a similar type.

Then again maybe I was just blasting through the game too fast, and taken in smaller doses I wouldn’t have had any thoughts about it dragging on.

The new mechanics certainly make things all that much more interesting, and keep the game fresh for much longer than just a rehashed Portal would have done. I’m glad they didn’t rest on their laurels in this department and certainly the best parts of the game involved Aperture Science’s other inventions. I found them to be simple yet innovative.

All that being said I hope that Portal 3, if there is one, moves beyond test chambers. I think we’ve seen enough of that haven’t we? I don’t think you could tell a compelling story about Chell being stuck in yet another series of death traps.

I haven’t had a chance to check out the multiplayer aspects yet, and maybe I’ll post about that when I do, but I don’t need to check that out to declare how good this game is. It’s a great sequel to a great game and I certainly hope there will be a third.

12 Comments

  1. The multiplayer aspect is really fun, but you really need vocal communication with the other player to take advantage of the “two minds are better than one” principle. I’d say, all in all, there was only one multiplayer puzzle that I checked for a walkthrough online. Still, we had to think quite carefully in order to complete all the chambers.

    • I will take that under advisement, I know a few people who’ve been using vent for communication.

      • Yeah, my husband and I were mostly in the same room, each on our own computer, so that worked well. When he played with a friend, they used Skype. That’s why I didn’t name a particular client/software for VOIP (or VATR [Voice across the room]). 🙂

  2. It is a fantastic game and you’re right, the writing was the best bit. Although, I really hope they don’t do a third. The final sequence was a fitting send off and everyone knows that you always struggle on “the difficult third album” so I’d rather not see the franchise stretched beyond its means just to make valve a few more bucks.

    • Who says they have to stretch it beyond its means? As long as they have original ideas I don’t see a problem with it.

  3. I agree 100% with both Hunter and Distilled on all counts. Fun games with interesting mechanics and exceptional writing. I especially agree with the sentiment that a third installment taking place, yet again, in test labs would have to be stretching things a bit too much and most likely classified as strictly a cash grab.
    .
    What I’m really curious about though is where should they go next? An entirely new IP? Where do you take those particular game mechanics, or how do you advance that story any further?
    Do you approach Marvel Comics and pitch them a “Nightcrawler” video game? Or do you perhaps take the game mechanics into a “space” setting where some low G, or zero G, mechanics would find an accepting audience?
    .
    I’d just like to see *something* more from the DEVs of this franchise because, as you both pointed out, the writing is humorous and well done. I’m sure those creative folks are already coming up with something, but I was just curious what you fellas were thinking the next step might be?

    • I don’t have any particular ideas for a 3rd but the half life universe does have some pretty weird stuff going on in it. Imagine releasing chell into that with a portal gun.

  4. I really doubt there will be a third, this is Valve after all. Did you play it on a console or PC, I got the it on PC and all of my friends (that got the game) got the console version so I was left wanting more after single player campaign as I finished it in a day, as a result I found the fan made maps to be a great source of extra content.

    • If your friends got it on PS3 you can play with them on your PC apparently. If they got it on the XBox then you’re out of luck.

    • Valve has made plenty of sequels, why would portal be any different?

  5. Glad you finally got to play it, it’s a fantastic game. If you get a chance to check out the co-op, do it! It adds dynamic and a whole new level of fun to the game.

    • Cool thanks. Yeah I have a few people I could play it with its just a matter of timing I guess. I mean right now it’s skyrim so, who knows.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

