You Only Dye Once

September 7, 2011 at 7:23 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 11 Comments
Tags: , ,

I think Guild Wars 2 is underrated when it comes to customization. I’m not talking about character creation, which clearly isn’t done yet, but how I’ll look once I’m in game. I rarely hear anyone outside the GW2 acknowledge that this is actually one of the most interesting features to look forward to.

I don’t have to wear some god awful looking piece of armour, because I’ll have access to transmutation stones to change into armour I think looks good.

I’ll be able to dye my armour different colours from the beginning, without having to jump through hoops, spend a ton of gold, or wait until I get to a major hub to buy dyes.

While you start out with only a beginner palette of colours, eventually you’ll have access to over 400 colours, as announced recently.

I really like the quality of life detail I heard about as well, new pieces of armour will retain the dye choices you made in the old.

Have you ever realized something annoyed only after it was gone? For me this is one of those things. I don’t want to repeatedly dye my own armour as I level up, I made my choice already, let me keep it. In Guild Wars 2 I only have to dye stuff once. Sure, I’ll probably dye stuff constantly, 400 colours, but it’s the little things that make people happy.

Here is a more in depth video showing off the dye system.

11 Comments

  1. Yeah, I keep forgetting to mention how jazzed I am about the intelligent dye-matching system.

    • It’s just so damned convenient. I never knew how much I missed it until they confirmed it was in game.

  2. Oh yes, I’m very much looking forward to playing with the dye system! And that it remembers my choice is even better. I always choose a nice colour for my starting gear in Guild Wars and am always sad when I replace it. But with the fast levelling up, I don’t really see a point in buying new dye unless my character has hit level 20 and gets the armor set that I want.

    Looking at this: http://nerdybookahs.net/screens/1bis40.jpg I also realise that yes, I stick to my choices. Well, at least a little bit. 😉 So choosing a colour setup that’ll automatically be applied sounds wonderful to me!

    • When I first get into game, I probably won’t care what colours I’m wearing, but once I start playing I will probably fuss with it constantly, and then eventually, settle on something for an eternity. I can’t wait.

      • I think it took me about 5 levels in WAR until I remembered that they have a dye system and ever since that, I ran to the dye NPC as often as I could afford (and had new stuff to dye). I absolutely love dye systems! So of course, I was more than happy to read about the dye system in GW2 and I can’t wait to experience it myself. I absolutely expect to sit there for hours trying to find the perfect combination… just to switch to a different one a month later. 😉

  3. The 400 color dye system is truly epic … Not only that but they are all individually named!.. kudos to Kristen Perry for her awesome work! Did anyone notice how her eyes lit up when one of the questions was about haveing the game recommend colors?… Its those kind of small things that i think will give GW2 a very unique flavor…

    • Very passionate about her work and a lot of the players love her for it.

      • Put me in that category… I think she’s great.

  4. Considering how easy it is going to be to switch colour scheme and switch back I’m sure I won’t keep one palette for too long.

    • Once I find something I’ll like I’ll stick with it for a long time. Even when new palettes are unlocked.

  5. […] Informative post about the dye system http://huntersinsight.com/2011/09/07/you-only-dye-once/ […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

