Comprehensive Skill TIp Videos

August 28, 2011 at 10:10 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 7 Comments
Tags: , ,

I’m sure this probably won’t interest most fans of Guild Wars 2 but I was over on Reddit.com/r/GuildWars2 and the top link was a series of youtube videos showing in depth what each skill does for each (aside from the mesmer) profession.

To give credit where credit is due, the fine people at RevGaming appear to be the ones responsible for the videos, and if you go by their site you’ll see they already have set up an interesting web interface for creating your own Guild Wars 2 builds. That is to say they help you decide what skills you want on your skill bar.

Engineer: http://youtu.be/wLmu_1XdlaY

Warrior: http://youtu.be/Xr6-NbjC-lQ

Ranger: http://youtu.be/W1DtpjfXOeM

Necromancer: http://youtu.be/YPRYdw49Jek

Thief: http://youtu.be/7-FmByPQLbo

Elementalist: http://youtu.be/hl0nNTXC2Ls

Guardian: http://youtu.be/KKhliYyYxZY

Now of course the game is several months away from release at best so most of these skills will change over time, but it is interesting to look at them in depth, see the variety of abilities per profession, note the different weapons and utility skills and come away from it hopefully with a better understanding of how the game is going to work

I know that that looking over skills like this is interesting for me on a personal level anyway.

7 Comments

  1. Wow I have to say I really liked these videos. I was pretty dead set on Warrior because I wanted to play someone more tanky. After watching the videos I’m still pretty confident Warriors have the best set of tools for that tanky-ness. That said, the Guardian really look to have a very fun set of tools to well… guard. A lot of interesting and dynamic options seemed available to the Guardian for that purpose.

    I guess only time will tell, but I may not be so fixated on the Warrior anymore. Still a definite plate lover though, so it’ll be one of those 2 classes.

    • Just looking at the skills I find is a great way to figure stuff like this out. I still haven’t settled on a class though, still waiting on the mesmer.

  2. Terrific, Very helpful with details.(I love that it tells the exact numbers for what it does.=D)

    • Yeah and the numbers are so far above guild wars numbers, its weird to see numbers that far up but I’m going to get used to it.

  3. It reminds me of a particular moment during the PAX show when Colin was trying to talk to (I believe) people like us, and he had around him all these noobs to the GW universe. The crowds shouting out “kill stuff, show us the game” and Colin’s trying to explain the changes that have occurred to this particular part of the map over the past 250 years of game time.
    For this particular post I’ll sit with the kill stuff crowd, though unlike the crowd I am happy to see you having fun, deep into the details. It means way too little for a game way too long away. The only thing I noted was the 16k health vs what seemed to be the largest hit of around 1.5-1.6k. I don’t want to see massive hits for 50% of someone’s health, I like the long battles with back and forth stuff happening! Lots of skill names in common with GW, I also noted that bleeding seemed to much greater in damage than in GW1 where to me it was pretty much irrelevant certainly compared to daze, or cripple. The combos, didn’t leap out at me (other than the usual mundane ones), and nor did the multi-player combos but I think that’s because they didn’t demo the skill which I was hoping for.

    • Sometimes in Guild Wars you could kill someone with 3 or 4 hits and that was it, the survivability seems much larger in gw2.
      I think they’re still working on the combos, hard to say.

  4. […] Hunter’s Insight: Comprehensive Skill Tip Videos. “To give credit where credit is due, the fine people at RevGaming appear to be the ones responsible for the videos, and if you go by their site you’ll see they already have set up an interesting web interface for creating your own Guild Wars 2 builds. That is to say they help you decide what skills you want on your skill bar.” […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

