QFT: Gamespot And Massively

February 4, 2011 at 8:10 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 5 Comments
Tags: , ,

With every big announcement about Guild Wars 2 comes a torrent of interviews. I usually try to pick out interesting quotes and provide commentary. In this case, the guardian was released and we’re still getting tidbits of information about it a week later.

Massively had an interview that went up several days ago, but as I have already done two QFT on the guardian I thought I’d wait until I had something to pair it with. Gamespot put up a feature on their most anticipated games of 2011 and Guild Wars 2, wouldn’t you know it, made the list.

I was kind of surprised that Star Wars: The Old Republic wasn’t up there in the same feature, but looking at “Your most anticipated games“, a tally of which games are followed most by gamespot users, it isn’t because nobody is paying attention.

I would include the GuildMag interview they had yesterday, but until there is a transcript, of which I’m told is coming next week, it will be on hold.

Massively

Again there is more talk of playstyle or archetypes as he puts it here.

When we design professions, we often just have an archetype in mind and develop the look from there.

The use of the word archetype makes me think of Champions Online’s new free to play model. Instead of the full breadth of skills, players there now choose archetypes, which are formed around playstyles. Sometimes game companies are all thinking the same things I think.

The guardian wasn’t always a guardian.

From a functionality standpoint, I think we started with something that was less magical feeling; at one point we were calling the Guardian a “Knight.” As the rest of our professions began taking shape around the Guardian, she started becoming more magical, and we brought in some elements from the protection Monk and Paragon from the first game.

As many have mentioned there are elements of so many different professions from the original being used with the guardian. I wonder if it’s their opinion that they’ve taken all the best elements from those professions and put them into one profession?

Due to Jeff Grubb’s involvement with the interview, there is plenty of lore info to look at.

With the turmoil in Elona and the spread of the Order of Whispers into other lands, more Paragon teaching showed elsewhere in Tyria. These teachings melded with other traditions, and over time, the Guardians and their abilities can be found throughout the world and among all the races.

It’s a reasonable explanation for the disappearance of the monk and other professions, but I do hope they get more into it. I was expecting an explanation that read more like ‘the monastic way of life died out as civilization advanced’ but it will do.

Here’s something interesting. To me anyway.

To me, the Guardian feels a lot like playing a caster who wears heavy armor. This is in contrast to what you’d typically think of when you think of the Paladin archetype found in many games, which feels like a melee bruiser who also knows a few spells.

That’s an interesting point, but I wonder just how much of this is just marketing trying to distinguish the guardian from a paladin like class. Is it really going to be all that much different? Some of the weapons a guardian uses seem to imply so. Something to reserve judgment on.

I love Sanctuary.

I quickly picked up on the idea that Guardians have to pace themselves, pick their targets, and keep an eye on the party as a whole. I’ve been using the Sanctuary skill as a “time out” to allow both the team and me to regain the momentum and carry the battle forward.

It’s just such an interesting skill to put in an MMO. It’s essentially a time out for your entire party.

I should start reading these articles ahead of time.

It is not so much a replacement of any one profession but rather an evolution that uses the best parts of several earlier classes.

I read the interview when it was posted and totally forgot about this.

Gamespot

It is great news that Gamespot is interested and even looking forward to Guild Wars 2. We’re talking about the (I think) number one gaming site on the series of tubes.

I can see what people mean when they start saying things like, “I don’t think Guild Wars 2 is coming out this year” when I read stuff like the following.

Various parts of the game are in different stages right now, so we’re really working on a little bit of everything; implementing some things, refining and polishing others. Some of the major features that we are concentrating on at this time include underwater combat, social features, player versus player–both competitive player versus player and world versus world–and overall game balance and flow.

That’s a lot of things to be working on, but you have to keep in mind all the things he’s not mentioning that sound like they’re done or not a big concern at this point in development.

I have to wonder just how true this is.

A person who wants to play Guild Wars 2 as a primarily solo experience can choose to concentrate on the personal story and will never have to group in order to experience dynamic events.

On the one hand that’s great, some people just like to solo, and while Dynamic Events can be solo’d, I wouldn’t say a soloer would enjoy doing them. Random people would probably run in pretty often. On the other hand, can you go all the way to 80 just from personal story? Isn’t there any nudging to get people to socialize?

A little info about the original Guild Wars.

I just spoke to John Stumme, who heads up the live team, and he told me that their next big project takes place in Cantha and involves the plight of the tengu, the origins of the Ministry of Purity, and the isolation of the entire continent.

Can’t wait to see that. Wonder when the ETA is. Sounds like another Tengu war. Maybe people should check out the Bonus Mission Pack to get the low down on that before Winds of Change comes around.

Anyway, the big thing about the Gamespot interview was the image below. I think it’s pretty awesome. Tigerfeet was all like “Hoelbrak!” and while I think this is probably near Hoelbrak, I’m betting it’s more out into the area surrounding it. I guess we’ll see.

Raven, Wolf, Snow Leopard, and Bear

5 Comments

  1. About why it’s not in the same feature, maybe it’s because Gamespot just did that Q&A with SWTOR last week, or perhaps it’s because Bioware has been just so tight lipped about everything lately 😦

    • Oh, actually it is there, just a few screens under Day 5. Poodoo.

    • Day 5 was not there when i was writing this article, i swear it! didn’t know there was going to be a day 5 either.

  2. I think for the most part Swtor is looking to be a game that doesn’t radically change the face of MMOs far enough to excite an MMO gamer. From the way I see things at the moment, SW fans are going for this, hell or high water, MMO gamers are lookin at this and those that want something new are hearing things that are too familiar for their comfort. Those especially that have already played EQ style endgame/pvp/reward/loot systems.

    • I disagree. The way they’ve got their story set up is very interesting to me. It’s going to be far more story intensive than I think people realize. That’s different, now whether that appeals to mmo fans or not is something different. I think bioware fans will be pleased, and considering how many copies they sold of DA and ME in their first month, i don’t think anyone has anything to worry about.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

