PAX East Gets Updated Demo

February 4, 2011 at 4:07 pm | Posted in Guild Wars, Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 8 Comments
Tags: , ,

Closer but still too far away

A couple days ago in a blog post, Arenanet announced that not only were they going to PAX East in Boston, they’d be bringing an updated demo as well.

That’s pretty fantastic. Not a whole lot of information has been released since the demo at gamescom, PAX, and other conventions. Generally, I’d just say that they’re putting the guardian in it.

I wouldn’t be surprised if they added anything else they’d managed to finish up. There are a number of likely and unlikely possibilities of what will be updated for the demo. PAX starts March 11th, so they have some time.

My gut says it’ll just have the guardian, but Tigerfeet was excited about the possibility of another new profession being announced in conjunction with the convention. I’m sure we could all guess and speculate about numerous in game systems we’d like to see in action, but personally I’d like to see stuff like the Bar Brawl and Shooting Gallery activities we’ve heard so much about in Divinity’s Reach.

Unfortunately I won’t get to see PAX East with my own two eyes. Although Halifax, Nova Scotia may seem geographically close to Boston, Massachusettes, in a straight line it’s about 650km. Expedia says I’d have to pay about $650 to fly there, not to mention other expenses. I could drive but, Google Maps says it’s 1100km. That is far.

Aside from the demo I would also have liked to see at least one panel, most likely “Guild Wars 2 – Fantasy MMO Redefined”. Not to mention meet a few fellow bloggers and Guild Wars 2 fans.

Oh well. At least I don’t have to cross the border and get my junk molested.

8 Comments

  1. My gut tells me we’ll get at least one more profession *coughAssassincough*. I’d like to see more, but I’d rather they work more on finishing the game than getting ready for a big convention.

    I get the feeling that Gamescom and PAX out west were huge learning experiences (especially if they had to juggle release schedules for professions). That’s just speculation out of thin air though.

    I hadn’t thought about the mini game systems. I’d really like to see underwater combat or PvP. I think one or the other is possible, but I very much doubt both will be ready.

    • ohhh PvP i was totally going to mention that and forgot. One possibility is that they’ll use Pax East as a big venue to release PvP info. i was going to devote a whole paragraph. gargh.

    • PvP reveal would be nice, especially if it is info on W x W x W, or whatever they are calling the realm PvP part of the game. A demo of it would be even better!

      Still waiting on PAX southeast for something close enough for me to go to. 🙂

      • Their big PvP reveal has to happen sometime. The summer might be better, but it could be PAX East.

  2. This is going to be my first time at PAX, my first time at any gaming convention really, so I don’t know how it’s all going to work out, but I’ll keep my eyes open on this for you 😀

    And I hear you about the distance and the expenses. PAX East is going to be closer to me than ever before I moved, but even then I don’t think I would have decided to go if my brother-in-law didn’t live right in Boston so we won’t have to worry about the extra costs of accommodation.

    • that’s a lucky break. yeah after the planet ticket i would have to start worrying about food, taxi, a room somewhere, tickets to pax obviously…. it starts getting expensive.

  3. I went on a ferry from Yarmouth or digby to portland. It was pretty cheap (we had bicycles). Unfortunately I think they stopped it a couple of years ago. I wonder if anything has risen in its place.

    • as far as i know nothing has. I remember a hotel had to recently close in yarmouth due to lack of traffic.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

