Approaching The Edge Of Destiny

December 23, 2010 at 2:08 am | Posted in Books, Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

The first book was solid, making reading this book a no brainer.

Arenanet released a new blog post today concerning the 2nd book in the Guild Wars 2 series. Edge Of Destiny. Where Ghosts Of Ascalon took place a year before the game, EoD takes place a full 5 years in the past. Here’s Amazon’s synopsis.

Destiny Called – They Answered

In the dark recesses of Tyria, elder dragons have awoken from millennial slumbers. First came Primordus, which stirred in the Depths forcing the asura to flee to the surface. Half a century later, Jormag awoke and drove the norn from the frozen climes of the Northern Shiverpeaks, corrupting sons and brothers along the way. A generation later, Zhaitan arose in a cataclysmic event that reshaped a continent and flooded the capital of the human nation of Kryta.

The races of Tyria stand on the edge of destiny. Heroes have battled against dragon minions, only to be corrupted into service of the enemy. Armies have marched on the dragons and been swept aside. The dwarves sacrificed their entire race to defeat a single dragon champion. The age of mortals may soon be over.

This is a time for heroes. While the races of Tyria stand apart, six heroic individuals will come together to fight for their people: Eir, the norn huntress with the soul of an artist; Snaff, the asuran ge­nius, and his ambitious assistant Zojja; Rytlock, the ferocious charr warrior in exile; Caithe, a deadly sylvari with deep secrets; and Logan, the valiant human guardian dealing with divided loyalties. Together they become Destiny’s Edge. Together they answer the call. But will it be enough?

Overall that’s a fairly good description for people interested in the game, let alone the novel.

I guess if you’re interested in buying the book, Amazon is interesting in selling it to you, although to my knowledge the release date was the 28th.

On a personal note I won’t be buying the ebook, mostly because the kindle or ipad are too expensive to make it worth it. So I’ll end up going into the book store on Tuesday, not being able to find it, waiting a week, and finally picking it up sometime around the 4th. At which point I’ll be live blogging it. Live blogging something a week if not weeks after it comes out is so fail, but I’m doing it anyway!

The blog post has a PDF of the first chapter (god I hate PDFs) and you can download that here.

My suspicion is that if a profession is detailed extensively in the book, for instance, say Logan Thackeray’s profession just as an example, that’s the profession we’ll be seeing in January. I do end up having a lot of suspicions of course.

I have yet to see any further clues about the author of the 3rd book. Not that there are any clues to begin with, but I have done some speculation on the subject and thought I’d link that. Anyone seen forum threads or detective work on the subject? I’d love to know.

Finally, Ghosts of Ascalon, if you haven’t seen what I’ve said about it, was a solid book, and I’d recommend it to anyone interested in the Guild Wars universe, especially as concerning Guild Wars 2.

2 Comments

  1. I just preordered the Kindle version, it’ll probably be delivered to my device in the wee hours of the morning on the 28th (last time I did that with a Kindle book, I think it automagically appeared in my home page at 3am on the day of release).

    Regarding the cost of the Kindle, I admit even $139 for the non 3G version is kind of a hefty price, but I’ve found I that having a digital reading device has saved me money on books in the long run, mostly because let’s just say I don’t always download my books from Amazon.

    • haha! You dirty rascal.

      I hate small book releases like this because i got stuck debating whether to order it from amazon or just wait for it to show up in stores and i keep wondering which is faster.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

