Future Weapons Today

November 4, 2010 at 12:00 am | Posted in rpg | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I Prefer Milsurp Review

I’m a bit of a weapons collector. I collect all the common weapons except maybe 12 gauge shotguns. I was keeping one or two around, but when I got the lever action, I realized that altogether I was keeping 4 shotguns.

I ditched the Caravan, Single, and Sawed-Off, and have yet to even try the lever action. I think mainly I stay away from using shotguns anyway, since they always seem to take longer to kill something. Probably all the reloading.

I’ve got a Hunting Revolver, .357, 9mm, 10mm, That Gun, Silenced .22, and a .44 Magnum for hand guns. Not including energy weapons or SubMachine Guns of course. Why do I keep them all around? Hell if I know.

I like the Hunting Revolver, it’s got a scope. I find the scope is more accurate than VATS in most situations. The .357 is powerful but reloading is a pain. The That Gun and .22 have pretty rapid fire but do low damage. I mostly keep the .22 around in case I need to do some serious sneaking. The 9mm and 10mm are a nice bridge between power and reloading so I use them a lot more often, but I don’t have much ammo for the .44 yet.

As for rifles and SMGs, I’ve got the 10mm and 9mm of course, a Varmit Rifle with scope, Hunting Rifle with scope, and a Service rifle. None of the advanced carbines yet, nor any unique or sniper rifles. I’m sure some people are thinking “why is he carrying around the Varmit, he may as well have a BB gun with him” but to that I say the scope makes it halfway decent.

Why don’t I ditch handguns in favour of automatic or energy weapons? I’m crazy.

Speaking of energy weapons, I now have a Laser Pistol, Plasma Pistol, Laser Rifle, Plasma Rifle, and a Laser RCW. My energy weapons skill isn’t very high yet, guns are taking a priority, but eventually their high tech allure will draw me in.

It’s always a pleasure to see somebody vaporize into ash. Uhm. I guess that doesn’t actually work as a sentence.

As far as Heavy weapons and explosives go, I haven’t got much. Just the Incinerator and a Grenade Rifle for heavy weapons. The Incinerator seems to be the only thing that works to get Giant Radscorpions off my ass, and don’t get me started on how to deal with Deathclaws. Frag grenades and mines, Pulse grenades and mines, a few sticks of dynamite just in case, and that’s all I’ve got.

I don’t carry melee weapons around, nor any kind of rare weapons like Detonators or Plastic. Pretty standard run and gun really. I keep all these guns in my inventory and switch between them often. Why is that when I could simplify my life by specializing in a few good weapons?

I could ditch virtually every handgun, the Varmit and Hunting Rifle, the energy pistols, dynamite, the shotgun, and still have all the weaponry I could conceive of needing in the wastes. Not to mention the weight it would free up.

For some reason it just doesn’t seem like it would be any fun.

I guess that’s why I’m the baddest hombre in the Mojave Wasteland.

Variety is the spice of life

2 Comments

  1. i like the varmint rifle b/c it seems to be the only one with a silencer

    you should try energy weapons and get the perk Meltdown; causes an aoe blast when you kill an enemy with one 🙂

    • the .22 smg has a silencer when you get around to fding it.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

