Rift Dimensions

October 17, 2010 at 7:37 pm | Posted in mmorpg | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

The more I see of Rifts the more it gets me thinking that Arenanet and Trion were thinking a lot of the same things, and then diverged at some point with infrastructure, art, and mechanics.

They’re like distant cousins where you can kinda sorta see the resemblance.

In Rifts instead of events that take place in the world and temporarily change what is going on and what is possible, it temporarily changes the whole world.

Now I don’t know too much about Rifts, I’ve got my sights set on Guild Wars 2 and Star Wars: The Old Republic, but if I get the motivation Rifts could end up being a 3rd game I’m paying attention to.

Anyway here’s a trailer explaining what I’m talking about.

4 Comments

  1. I think it is a clever idea, if I understand it correctly, to reuse the same areas, but transformed for multiple rift environments if the rifts aren’t closed. As you said, it looks like they’ve borrowed a bit from GW, WoW and others, which is okay, everyone borrows ideas. My concerns would be about having only two factions and, I believe, they are still using the holy trinity. With a 2011 release they will be going up against a bunch of new MMORPGs including SWTOR, DCUO, TERA, and GW2; possibly a few others too.

    The only subscription game I’ll be playing over the next year is Aion, so unless some of these games switch to the GW model, I’ll have to pass. Which sucks, as I’d love to play in the DC Universe.

    • yeah next years competition is going to be way tougher I think. champions at the end of last year, STO at the beginning of this one, FF just now coming out, APB seriously tanked. yeah next year will be way tougher.

      reskinning the very world is pretty clever. thats another area gw has some experience in.

  2. The game looks neat and like it might be fun. The main thing for me is that the majority of it seems to be pretty standard. The rifts are nice but from what I’ve read are entirely optional and will take care of themselves if no one else does. The class system is also neat and I like it a lot. Everything else is pretty much standard though. I’m optimistic but I’m waiting to hear more before I decide if it’s worth buying though.

    • Yeah i think the art looks rather… played out, if you ask me. I mean they’re not going for unique, from what i’ve seen.

      The rest has potential.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

