Quoted For Truth: Necros And Demos

August 29, 2010 at 1:13 am | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

With every big announcement about Guild Wars 2 comes a torrent of interviews. I usually try to pick out interesting quotes and provide commentary. In this case, Guild Wars 2 Guru had a couple good interviews about the demo, and Ravious at Kill Ten Rats also had an interview about the necromancer. There is podcast interview in German which I haven’t been able to find a transcribed translation of, but will mention later on anyway.

I’ll start with the oldest interview (August 19th) and work forward, since I’ve been putting this off to put it all in one post. They start out with questions about character creation.

So as far as I know as a general rule the professions start with a specific weapon. It is the case that we basically give you a weapon on all your professions. We did have weapon selection for the warrior at some point, but right now it’s like this: the ranger chooses which pet he will start with and the elemental get to chose a head piece, the necromancer get to chose a face piece, like a mask. And the warrior gets to chose like a head gear.

I’m not sure what head pieces are really for here. Probably adds stats to a specific attunement or playstyle. Kind of disappointing we can’t coordinate that with a weapon choice, but I don’t imagine you’re hemmed in by those initial choices for long.

Will there be something like the Zaishen Menagerie where we can store pets?

We are going to put in something like that. I’m not sure if it’s going to be exactly like that Zaishen Menagerie.

I imagine that there will be some form of stable in your personal home instance. That’s my guess anyway.

Here’s a few choice quotes from their questions about crafting.

We’re going to have a very extensive crafting system, lots of gathering and all of those pieces you’ve seen in basically any other MMO in terms of crafting systems.

The example with resource nodes would be that, if we end up having things such as copper nodes and any sort of plants you can walk up to a plant and pick it.

Then your friend can walk up to it and also pick it up one second later at the same spot. To you it will look as if it’s gone, but not to the rest. It goes back to our whole core principle of we don’t want players fighting over things

An extensive crafting system but one they haven’t really worked on yet. I’m not sure it matters much about the non-existent competition for resource nodes. I’ve never had much trouble fighting with people over crafting stuff. Not sure what effect it would have on economy either. None? I hope.

When you roll with the human gods, you don't roll alone

Moving on to the 2nd GW2Guru interview from the 26th.

We’re not saying, “you are the warrior, you will tank; you are a priest, you will heal.” But rather, “you are a warrior, you’ve got many options; you’re a ranger, you’ve got many options.” And if those options include a playing style that you’re comfortable with… again, go for it.

This says something about what I’ve mentioned recently on the blog. One that Guild Wars has very diverse playing styles for each profession, and two, people really shouldn’t be worried that Guild Wars 2 is such a huge departure from Guild Wars 1.

Chris Lye: Some of us are still learning how to use Death Shroud. I use it to lure everything away from my body and then return back.

Jeff Grubb: And I tend to use it as a scouting type thing. If I want to know what’s out there with a minimum amount of danger to me, I can use Death Shroud and then come back and I’m still in a relatively safe place.

I’ve been very impressed by Death Shroud. I remain convinced that Donnie Darko is the inspiration. The actual practical uses of the skill and how its used is great. I see a lot of people playing necromancers on the basis of this alone.

The Home Instance.

You chose to rescue a friend and he will still be in your home instance. If you make another choice and he dies – he’s gone. You might have a gravestone for him somewhere. If you rescue somebody out in the wilderness, they may move into your home instance. These are permanent results of your choices. If you have to make the decision of saving the orphanage or save the hospital and you chose one and the other burns down, that burned down building is in your home instance. This is where we can basically show things that you’ve done. You know, they’ve put up a statue for you… you’ve got a statue.

I like these little touches. Like a gravestone when your friend dies. And larger touches like a burned down building and a statue in your honor.

People will, who play a ritualist or a mesmer or a necromancer or any of the old, old characters, will feel like they have a home somewhere in Guild Wars 2. We are basically identifying the styles of play for that and then designing accordingly.

Again this goes back to people not really needing to worry that GW is so different than GW2. Same styles of play. I don’t get outcry about Guild Wars 2 not being the successor to GW1.

I love hearing about the Dynami Events.

Say that we blow up a bridge somewhere and as a result the trade route is interrupted until the bridge is rebuilt. That becomes the next event in the chain – to rebuild the bridge. Now we need to re-establish the trade route. So actions have these chains, these cascading chains that affect it.

Do you suppose this is the bridge in the shiverpeaks that is destroyed by electrical current in the manifesto video?

In the wheat fields where you’ve been fighting those bandits, I found a pack of feed and I picked it up and I looked at the skill bar change and it said, “Bag of Feed, Feed Cow.” I went to one of the cows nearby and fed the cow and little hearts appeared around the cow.

I saw this in one of the videos, and it was indeed cute. The beastiality jokes will be flying.

No one escapes the giant grawl pee monster!

Moving on to Ravious’ interview which mostly concerns necromancers from the 27th.

I honestly think this is big news that has been overlooked somewhat. For me it was not entirely unanticipated. I believe I’ve blogged elsewhere that I had doubts about hexes once we knew that boons replaced enchantments. Or maybe I’m talking out of my butt, I have a lot of posts.

We wanted to streamline things for Guild Wars 2, so we rolled all of our negative and positive buffs into our condition and boon systems. We did this to make combat easier for players to learn. Instead of having to learn what a potentially unlimited pool of hexes do, players only have to learn about a much smaller set of conditions. We wanted to introduce some different types of complexity into combat (positioning, weapon and skill swapping, etc…) and therefore had to streamline other things so that we didn’t overwhelm players. It should be noted that many of the things that necromancers were able to do with hexes in the first game can be accomplished through other means in Guild Wars 2.

Being that mesmers are entirely based on hexes this should be a big adjustment for players. Obviously mesmers will be in Guild Wars 2, its just a question of how drastically different their play style will be. I think you could replace ‘necromancers’ with ‘mesmers’ in the above quote.

We’ve already heard that interrupts won’t work as they did in Guild Wars. There will be less of them and not quite as twitch based. I’m sure mesmers will still operate by dispensing large numbers of conditions and if anything will be interrupting it will be the mesmer, but I can’t wait to see the changes in store. There is a whole lot of room for speculation on the new mesmer, and just how they’ll inflict their damage, control, or support.

Finally the podcast. Now as far as I can tell, since it hasn’t been translated and the only phrase I know in German is “wir gehen nach Frankreich durch Belgien Angriff”, they’ve made some vague statements about dungeons. One of the GW2Guru forumites translated the state ment as follows.

He said that you will always experience something different when you enter a dungeon, so it doesn’t get boring

Personally that just sounds like the same sort of things they’ve been saying about Dynamic Events. That each time you travel through an area its different. It would make sense to me that dungeons follow the same rules. In essence just a big instanced dynamic event that varies in some way.

A lot of the forumites seem to be letting their imaginations get ahead of them and immediately attributes that statement to meaning there would be diablo-esque randomly generated dungeons. I find that hard to believe.

With the glut of information from the demo you’d think there would be more interviews but essentially a lot of the information that came out of the convention that wasn’t involved with videos was just big media sets catching up with the more hardcore weirdo’s who spend their days blogging about a game that won’t come out for 6 months.

6 Comments

  1. “People will, who play a ritualist or a mesmer or a necromancer or any of the old, old characters, will feel like they have a home somewhere in Guild Wars 2.”

    This is great news. I hadn’t read this before now.

    “I think you could replace ‘necromancers’ with ‘mesmers’ in the above quote.”

    I thought this too 🙂 It’s like when they mentioned that an unannounced profession has pets, with less control over them. Hints ftw.

    • yeah i’ve been thinking about it and at the very least, the new professions seem nearly as diverse as the old ones. its just more focused and clean.

  2. Guess I’ve been lucky, but I’ve never really had to fight over gathering nodes, aside from the occasional bot early on in Aion. In fact, I’ve met some fairly nice people while gathering. I’ve found most players are willing to share both nodes and mobs, compare ideas on good places to find things or level, and even team up now and then. What I like about GW2’s approach is they are actively encouraging that kind of behavior, while not punishing you for working together. Aion, for instance, heavily punishes players working together if you are more than a few levels different, supposedly to stop power leveling, but really it just keeps people from teaming up more. It is actually faster in most cases to solo grind mobs than to team up. Dumb design.

    I’m mostly skipping all the nonsense on the forums. I see GW2 as an enhanced GW1, with lots of changes but hopefully keeping some of the core ideas of things I liked from GW1.

    The bag of feed reminds me of one of the blogs that mentioned being able to pick up a watering can. He tried watering plants, cows and other players. 🙂

    • in runes of magic the nodes are so plentiful, and 5/7ths of the crafting is so useless, that gathering wasn’t competitive at all.

      you can a bunch of examples of people watering plants at one of the farms with a water bucket, very nearby the bag of feed.

  3. Gathering nodes are fought over bitterly in WoW. It’s rediculous. ArenaNet’s solution could be a BIG draw for those who only know WoW’s system.

    Also, I’m ready to throw down about the last four silhouettes 🙂 I’ll make a picture for it and everything!

    • I think we mostly agree about the final silhouettes don’t we? But again, with their artists they can make any silhouette be any profession they want.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

