Scott Pilgrim vs My Eyeballs

August 25, 2010 at 1:50 am | Posted in Uncategorized, video | 8 Comments
Tags: , , ,

KO'd

I settled into my seat in a surprisingly busy theater. The local chain is only showing Scott Pilgrim once a night, couple that with the cheap Tuesday night tickets (7 bucks) and surprisingly it was mostly full. I had read about the box office woes of the movie (60 million to make, but only having grossed 20 so far) and had half expected to enjoy the movie in silence.

I was 15 minutes early so of course I was subject to the various ads, which immediately gave me the feeling this would not be a good night. There was a public service announcement about going back to school, I noticed most of the people in the theater were barely above half my age, and various chocolate bar and candy ads aimed at tweens. Great.

The previews started. Often for me this is the best part of a movie, particularly if the movie stinks, so I watched with intense scrutiny. The new Bruce Willis “Reds” movie could be watchable, especially with Helen Mirren. I could watch Prime Suspect, particularly the last season over and over.

Finally the movie began. The Other Guys starring Will Farrel and Mark Wahlberg.

Wait. What.

Apparently they forgot to switch the reel over from the 7 o’clock showing.

Sitting through 2 sets of previews is a boon to a person like me, but it still ended up starting the actual movie 40 minutes late. I can be pretty prickly so starting my movie late is not a good thing.

I guess it just didn’t matter though. Scott Pilgrim is wicked awesome.

Early on I almost instantly recognized a song that was playing. I couldn’t quite place it. “I’ve liked you for a thousand years, a thousand years”. Later on Scott Pilgrim wears a t-shirt that says Plumtree. I’ve seen them in clubs like a dozen times. Halifax’s own. They even go on to play Go! by Plumtree as well.

As to the actual movie, I have to admit, I didn’t think the acting was particularly strong. Does that even matter in a movie like this? No.

The visuals were fantastic, I loved them. You rarely see a movie so fully invest itself in the visual ideas of its source material. Sin City I think was the first to do this, followed by a few other comic book movies. Usually you just get crap like Fantastic Four with Jessica Alba. Does that adaption of the comic book sit right with anyone?

The visual style isn’t the only thing to like of course. There is the humour. I’ve yet to read the comic book, blasphemy I know. Unfortunately that means I’m not sure how funny the comic is in relation to the movie, but the movie is quite funny. Sure there are kind of lazy pee jokes, like when Scott empties his pee bar. The audience laughed but I don’t think it was that funny. There are other pee jokes though, and I did laugh at those. I tend to not laugh at bodily function humour, it seems so junior high to me. Yet there it is.

The continual odes to geek culture were truly impressive. Video game sound effects, references, and visual gags require a second viewing I think.

I loved the characters. Well written and while not necessarily deep, the large cast complements the story instead of holding it back. Some of the situations ring true as well, I mean its a fantastical comic book story but, heart break and humiliation go hand in hand with break ups. Super villain induced or not.

I think the most impressive thing about the whole movie is how easily it splices a sort of romantic comedy with a super hero comic book. I like that real world situations are told through a fantasy epic adventure story. It pulls it off really well. I’ve always thought that Spiderman’s best stories, or his best villains anyway, weren’t just random strangers but the people he knew in real life. Docr Ock or Doc Connors as scientists Peter respected, Flash Thompson as a bully, Eddie Brock as a rival photographer.

Scott Pilgrim does exactly that. It takes the real world problems of dealing with break ups and ex’s, turns them into hyperbole and metaphor and not coincidentally a great movie.

Is it wrong that I sort of wanted Knives to end up with Scott at the end? Or wait maybe I just want to end up with Knives in the end. She is so frickin adorable.

Ladies and gentlemen of the nerd world. If you do not see Scott Pilgrim, you shame us both sir. Good Day.

8 Comments

  1. I felt Knives was really well cast, the actress did a fantastic job. She’s always been my favorite character (Asian pride, maybe?) and when I got a sketch from O’Malley I asked him to do one of her. I felt kinda bad for her in the comics, she didn’t have anywhere near the awesome role as in the movie. I just finished reading the last book of the series too, and surprisingly I have to say I liked the ending of the movie better. Give the comics a read if you can, it’s worth it.

    • yeah I have to say knives and maybe kim were my favourite supporting roles. Knives is adorable and kim and I happen to have… similar outlooks?

  2. Oh I so want to see this. No earlier than Sunday, I’m afraid.

    • You will not be disappointed. Unless I’m hyping it too much. in which case you will.

  3. Better half and I have been trying to get to see this for over a week, but we are continuously thwarted (the latest being a broken-down car). Argh.

    • walk! nay! run! to your local theater! its decent. honestly. but don’t let me over hype it.

  4. I’m surprised it hasn’t done great. The movie was awesome. I watched it on Sunday and loved it.

    • yeah i know, it really is a well done movie for the most part. i’m hoping it’ll explode on dvd


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

