The Necro In The Demo

August 18, 2010 at 2:22 pm | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

Although I had planned on the Assassin being the next profession reveal before the book was released, afterwards there was a crush of people dead sure it was the necromancer. Perhaps I should have listened. Its a very popular class, so to be honest I thought people were attaching themselves to popularity instead of rationality.

But when I sat down to watch the 1up.com video one of the first things you see is a necromancer using some kind of black ethereal spell.

It turns from a small well like circle into this

They don’t appear set on revealing it yet at all, just letting us see it in the demo and waiting to do the full reveal at a later time. He doesn’t look all that distinctive really, like any other class. A human in medi-eval to rennaissance dress and a staff.

I feel like I got more information out of their being windriders as pets.

The audio for the video does reveal a few things I suppose. Like that the necro can enter into different modes, one in particular where he sucks the life from everyone around him, and save that life for use later.

Anyway, more on my failure to predict necros and on their reveal when they get revealed.

4 Comments

  1. I haven’t been able to listen to the audio, so I can’t comment on that. I noticed that the critter you’re calling a Wind Rider (and I think that’s prolly the best description at the moment) is following the necro around. I have a feeling it is associated with the necro and not the ranger profession. That being said, perhaps we can speculate that it is the necro pet or that it is a summoned minion. There really isn’t much to go on at this point, like you said, but I have a feeling it is our first indication of some sort of minion for the necro. I can’t wait for the reveal for confirmation.

    • yeah i noticed that after i posted, its clearly a summoned creature.

  2. Heh guess I should have commented here about the fleshy windrider thing instead lol.
    I noticed after he went in and sucked the life out of everything he teleported back to that green skull symbol that was on the ground, necrotic traversal? It reminded me of one of those assassin teleports that puts you back in the location you cast it, cant think of the name rightnow.

    • yeah it could be, just wish there was better video of all this stuff.

      shadow of haste maybe?


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

