Burn Sucker

August 17, 2010 at 4:04 pm | Posted in mmorpg, Star Wars: The Old Republic | 8 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Surprisingly Star Wars: The Old Republic released a video showing some space combat. It’s not Friday so I wasn’t really expecting it.

There isn’t a lot too it. Like mentioned before, it seems to be an on rails, shoot em up. It reminded me quite a bit of a few Star Wars arcade games.

One thing I had forgotten about was how much I like Star Wars space combat sound effects. Other than that there is little to comment on. The models for your personal ship seem to be in use, and various planets, asteroid fields, and space battles seem to be the locations. The voice work seems fair. The graphics are better than I had expected coming from a game that will be mostly ground based.

I wonder what else they’ll release for gamescom.

8 Comments

  1. What does this mean for the status of your bet with MMOGC? 🙂

    • it means I lost, but i admitted that a while back. I’ve also bet her that there will be at least 24 significant planets though. so we’ll see how that goes.

  2. Looks like a better version of SOE’s upcoming Starfighter mini-game shown from the recent Star Wars: Clone Wars Adventures video.

    I’m not a big Star Wars fan (I liked the first two movies only), but the sounds and graphics definitely have the proper Star-Warsy feel to them.

    pew pew pew

    • I haven’t seen the Clone Wars one but there have been plenty of similar star wars games over the years.

  3. I saw this too, though I wanted to wait until I picked up the PC Gamer magazine to talk about it. This vid was probably released as well to coincide with the article. Anyway, it looks and feels a lot like Rogue Squadron to me. Come on, on rails or not, you gotta admit it looks well done enough to constitute as real space combat.

    • yeah I admit it, it looks well done. don’t forget gamescom is going on right now, it was probably released to coincide with that.

      • There are a lot of screenshots in the article from the video, which is why I think it was also planned this way.

        • By which I mean, in addition to Gamescon of course.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

