Quoted For Truth: Univers Virtuel

August 5, 2010 at 1:37 am | Posted in Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

With every big announcement about Guild Wars 2 comes a torrent of interviews. I usually try to pick out interesting quotes and provide commentary. In this case, Univers Virtuel (which I think is French for ‘We Surrender’) interviews The Flannum (S!), The Grubb, and Chris Lye The Marketing Guy.

Figures they’d post this while I’m live blogging (which I’ll try to finish tomorrow) Ghosts of Ascalon, and I’d only notice it after during the daily Zaishen Mission. Thanks for keeping me up Arenanet. Yesterday you posted the Personality blog at like 11pm or something. That’s okay, I don’t need to sleep.

But lets step away from my whining and get to the questions UV asked, which apparently are ranged and interesting. First question, can you draw on the mini-map?

we can confirm that players will be able to draw and click on the map like they did in Guild Wars. Only party members will be able to see this.

You know, I enjoy the ingenuity of this feature, but at the same time have seen it put to no good use so many times it boggles my mind. Just the other day in a group where I thought I was playing with mostly mature adults, I myself made a comment to the effect of “At least you’re not drawing penis on the mini-map” thinking it would get a good laugh. What happened next? I think you can guess. For the next couple minutes, nothing but penis. Please let there be someway to differentiate who is drawing what. sadface.

A few words on environmental weapons.

Environmental weapons bring new and cool skills to the player, on a temporary basis.

Given that many of these environmental weapons are destructible, the player is quickly back to using his own weapons.

I’ve been wondering just how long they last, and it does seem they are limited and break apart fairly quickly.

Your new interrogation droid is here Mr. Vader. Uhm it's a little big isn't it?

Here’s an interesting question.

UV: Can monsters use their own environmental weapons? Or even use the same ones as the players, and thus pick them up before we do?

Eric: In some cases yes they can. For example, a jotun can throw his sword at a player which creates a « jotun sword » environment weapon. The jotun will try to pick his sword back up, but a player could get to it and use it first.

What happens to the jotun after he doesn’t have his sword? What skills is he using, or is he useless?

One thing I don’t think I recall hearing about banners, though perhaps I have and forgot was this.

The buff offered by the banner is permanent (well, until it is destroyed by an enemy).

Destroyed by an enemy? So I’m going to have to target these things and unleash killing blows, kind of like those rit spirits that just don’t want to die.

Is it important to note they mention Eviscerate no longer inflicts a condition? I don’t think it is, so I’m going to move on. How about stacked conditions are removed as a stack? Does that interest anyone? Anybody want to talk about it? I don’t.

Endgame, now that’s something I want to talk about.

I won’t say much here as we are not ready yet to talk about end-game, but I can tell you that we came up with a bunch of really cool ideas that will undoubtedly made end-game an original and fun experience for many players.

I stopped reading after ‘not ready yet’ so let me know in the comments if I missed anything.

Goths just don't fit in around her Caithe. Why don't you try Orr.

PvP Info! Sort of! How hard is it to make a PvP character!?

easy

WvW OMG!

Every server is involved in a three-server WvW match in the Mists and players may only fight for the server they currently belong to. Since every server is always involved in a WvW match of some sort, we need to allow players to transfer servers during a WvW matchup. However, since it would not be fair to allow people from other worlds to influence the balance of the battle by constantly moving between servers, we will impose some restrictions for a short amount of time on players who switch servers.

I did not know every server would be involved in their own WvW. That may end up being hard to do as time goes on, this leaves me curious for long term plans but okay. I’m glad they’re already thinking ahead, preventing people from joining WvW as soon as they switch seems the likely restriction.

I think the lore nerds at GW2Guru forums just crapped their pants. Deep Sea Dragon!

The existence of the DSD is not well-known to the average Tyrian (for whom the other dragons may be legendary or distant threats). The exact nature of the DSD is as yet unrevealed, and its powers differ from the other dragons as those Elder Dragons differ from each other. But it shares with its kindred a desire to consume, corrupt, and destroy.

Dun dun dun dunnnnnnn. I get a little goofy when I’m tired.

That is that for that french interview. That. Let me know if you guys have any comments in the comments. Comments.

6 Comments

  1. “Please let there be someway to differentiate who is drawing what. sadface.”

    Yeah like each player having a different color depending on their place in the party list comes to mind.

    “Environmental weapons bring new and cool skills to the player, on a temporary basis.”

    “Given that many of these environmental weapons are destructible, the player is quickly back to using his own weapons.”

    I figured they would have pretty limited use. Like pick up a rock it procs a couple options depending on your profession, and depending on what option you choose that would determine how many uses you get out of it e.g. throw the rock you only get one use but smash it over their head and maybe you get a few shots out of it before it crumbles in your hand.

    It will be interesting to see what all we can use as weapons and what all we can do with them.

    “I won’t say much here as we are not ready yet to talk about end-game, but I can tell you that we came up with a bunch of really cool ideas that will undoubtedly made end-game an original and fun experience for many players.”

    If I had an ecto for every time they said “We are not ready yet to talk about”….Cmon Anet this isn’t fight club!

    • any sort of differentiation would be great, i need to know who to kick from my party. all the work they put into avoiding griefing, no mention of any griefing done with drawing on the map.

      The first rule of Guild Wars 2 Club is we do not talk about Guild Wars 2 club.

  2. I have always loved the ability to draw on the mini-map because it enables groups to have some semblance of tactics without having to stop and type, or be in the same Vent/TS channel together. By “some semblance” I mean simple things like “go this way, not that way” or “stop here” and things like that. I really miss that element when I play other games, especially since I’m not a huge fan of voice chat. I’m pretty happy to hear this will stay in GW2.

    (somewhat funny story: I was doing a dungeon with an alliance mate the other night when my keyboard died mid-battle. I could of course still click on mobs and skills to fight, but since I would be unable to call targets or chat or anything else bound to my keys, I ended up using the mini-map to write with my mouse, “WAIT KEYBOARD DIED BRB”. See? Handy!)

    Oh, and I haven’t gotten any penises drawn on maps in a long time :). Lucky, I guess.

    • Yeah its a perfect tool for pugs or people without voice chat, i’m surprised more games don’t have it.

      oh but you have had penis drawings haven’t you! not lucky enough.

  3. “Just the other day in a group where I thought I was playing with mostly mature adults, I myself made a comment to the effect of “At least you’re not drawing penis on the mini-map” thinking it would get a good laugh. What happened next? I think you can guess. For the next couple minutes, nothing but penis. Please let there be someway to differentiate who is drawing what. sadface.”

    Just for the record, I was the one who drew the pie, mm’k?

    Though I DO think some kind of color-code system would be nice to see who’s drawing what. Maybe that’ll be easier with a group size of 5?

    • I have no problem with whoever drew the pie. I’m sure it tasted just as good as real pie.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

