Dragon Age 2

July 9, 2010 at 10:27 am | Posted in rpg | 11 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Why don't game companies make blog sized images available?

Lost in the shuffle of all this controversy over World of Warcraft not understanding why privacy is popular on the internet, and Guild Wars 2 announcing healing is for suckers, was a little announcement about Dragon Age 2 being (uh) announced. Pow, right in the kisser.

New trailer at Gamescon. Woot. That’s around mid august for all you non super nerds.

What do we have to look forward to? From the page itself.

* Embark upon an all-new adventure that takes place across an entire decade and shapes itself around every decision you make.
* Determine your rise to power from a destitute refugee to the revered champion of the land.
* Think like a general and fight like a Spartan with dynamic new combat mechanics that put you right in the heart of battle whether you are a mage, rogue, or warrior.
* Go deeper into the world of Dragon Age with an entirely new cinematic experience that grabs hold of you from the beginning and never lets go.
* Discover a whole realm rendered in stunning detail with updated graphics and a new visual style.

A lot of hype there obviously. “Go deeper into the world of Dragon Age with an entirely new cinematic experience that grabs hold of you from the beginning and never lets go.” Oh you mean we get to see more places in the sequel? I did not see that coming. Nor did I figure there would be a story told in this electronically gamed video. What am I? A frickin rube? It never lets go? Never? Really?

It does sound like they’ve got new things going on. I doubt the “new visual style” amounts to much, but a story that takes place over 10 years? New combat mechanics? Refugee to King? Dare I say Emperor? I’d prefer emperor.

Not to Bioware. Although you’ve already got me on board thanks to Dragon Age being one of the best games of last year, I could use more solid details in your pitch.

11 Comments

  1. I’m excited about this but I’m a little disappointed, too. I was hoping to see some continuity of story, like what they did with the ME series. I’m just going through DA:O now, so maybe that’s not realistic by the time this one wraps up. I’m not sure. I know one thing though, when I enjoy something, I want it to continue. Games, books, whatever. No continuity is sad 😦

    • I think maybe thats one of the reasons they don’t seem to be continuing on your character from DA:O, they’re doing that in ME.

      Trying to diversify a little bit and not offer the exact same gaming experience over and over. I’d like to learn more about the game before coming to any conclusions though.

  2. I was also hoping Dragon Age 2 would end up being a continuation of our experience in the first game, but oh well. I suppose it would be a little too complicated, even more so than Mass Effect, to do so since all the story lines in DA:O were pretty complex. I’m just upset that I won’t be able to continue my story as Alistair’s queen 😛

    Well, at least this is still in the Dragon Age, so hopefully there should be some of the characters we met in the first game still kicking around.

    • always alistair with you. does hubby get jealous?

      Thats a really good point actually. the origins coupled with the romances and storylines and choices and endings, way too complicated if you think about it.

      • LOL hey, I pulled so many strings to claw my way up to the throne and be his queen, I think I should at least get to have a taste of what it’s like to rule Ferelden! 😛

        • i get it now. you’re power hungry.

          • Isn’t there a maniacal despot in all of us? 😉

  3. I wasn’t a fan of DA, so I do hope it gets better.
    I’d like my combat not to look like a wrestling match, and I don’t need those dialog trees anymore thank you. Let what I do make my desicions I am sick of talk talk talk talk… then you might have some hope of getting some action going and for god sake make some combat that runs at a speed where I don’t have to make it start and stop like a movie I am downloading on a 56k modem.
    The 10 year thing looks interesting I do hope they don’t just state a few times through the game at the end of various cinimatics “and a few years later…”

    • i don’t even know why you’d play a bioware game with those complaints. talking, pausing the game. thats bioware.

      • I guess I’ve learned my lesson but you’re looking forward to an mmo with these qualities?

        • an mmo with great story? great voice overs? and a combat system that doesn’t resemble their normal rpgs so thats not really relevant? yes…

          I’m a fan of bioware games.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

