Millenium Falcon Is Taken

June 14, 2010 at 8:17 pm | Posted in mmorpg, Star Wars: The Old Republic | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I definitely don’t pay as much attention to Star Wars: The Old Republic as I do to Guild Wars 2. I don’t put anywhere near the same amount of effort, thought, and scrutinizing in, which is weird because I’m a bigger fan of Star Wars than just about anything else.

Which is why although I figured there would probably be player housing in Guild Wars 2 before it was ever announced, I hadn’t even considered there would be housing in SWTOR.

Since Ebon Hawk will also be taken, I'm going with Love Commander

Well there will be. Players will be able to choose from a number of ships to command, and if those ships are anything like the Ebon Hawk, they’re going to be your home amongst the stars, or where you happen to be docked anyway.

Details are scant of course, but IGN had this to say.

Every player, regardless of their chosen class, will get their own starship to command across the galaxy. Always dreamed of flying a Corellian vessel? Choose the Vanguard class when playing. Or maybe you’ve had some sort of sick dream where you gangster walk through the galaxy aboard an Imperial transport (if so, choose the Sith Fury class).

Of course, it would be pretty boring to have an entire galaxy packed with a handful of similar ships. To combat this, BioWare has created a robust customization package so that you can fully trick out your ship with premade gear sets or your own hand-picked items. Though BioWare isn’t showing off the ships in action just yet, they assure us that there will be thousands of different variations so that each person can feel as if they have a unique vessel.

In retrospect its pretty obvious. Every Bioware game, KOTOR, Mass Effect, Dragon Age, has some form of camp, usually with minimal customization.

I’m already dreaming up ship names.

7 Comments

  1. I never had a doubt in my mind that players were going to get ships in SWTOR…I mean, if even Cryptic can pull off something like ship customization in a game like Star Trek Online…

    Still, I have to wonder at “player housing”. I want more than just a place I can go to chill out (which is what STO has but I wouldn’t go as far as to call that player housing…) To me, player housing has to also mean some degree of functionality and customization, like in LOTRO for example. The good news is, the SWTOR team has people from SWG working on it now (and that game had amazing player housing options) so someone there knows how it should be done.

    • Mmm, yeah looking back its so obvious I nearly literally did a facepalm.

      Me i’m happy about housing, but i want space combat. If they can turn my player housing into a fighting machine somehow fanboys everywhere will cry and worship bioware forever.

      It’ll be interesting to see how far they take customization. Biowares other games are basically customized solely on the basis of which companions you’ve added, or small details like fish in the normandys fish tank, or model ships on display.

      • I’m going out on a limb here right now and predict that there WILL be space combat 😀

        For me, that’s another one of those “given” things…the only question that remains for me is, how well will they pull it off? For example, is it going to be minimal, like for example in KOTOR where all you’ll get is a few moments of looking out a view port and shooting from behind a gun? Or will they go all out with something more encompassing, like how space combat is handled in STO (where you get to see the whole ship, z-axis, speed controls, different weapons, shields, etc etc etc)?

        • I actually kind of disagree. no space combat in ME, and none in KOTOR aside from the mini-games you mention. and if its just mini-games i’m not sure it can *really* be considered space combat.

          don’t get me wrong i’d love to have it, and maybe they’ll surprise me but i’m not counting on anything of the sort.

          I’ll bet you 10 credits.

          • You’re on 🙂

            While I agree that the mini-games in KOTOR don’t really count as space combat, I’m sure that if we get space encounters in SWTOR we’ll be seeing at least that much. On the other hand, I don’t see them going all out Star Trek Online style either, because space combat was the main selling point in that game, whereas I don’t think it is in SWTOR. My guess: short space fights will be available to us, even if it’s just in an instanced area, but I don’t think it will be as elaborate or continuous as the space gameplay we have in STO. As for whether or not it should be considered just a mini-game, I guess it’ll come down to how much we actually get to do.

            • well it is a 100 million dollar game or something, so maybe you’re right. Its just not something i’m counting on.

  2. […] So I predicted something…and was right for once? Sweet. And you know what else this means? Hunter, I love ya, but you owe me 10 […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

