What I Was Worried About

May 21, 2010 at 7:40 pm | Posted in mmorpg | Comments Off on What I Was Worried About
Tags: , ,

EQ2's Prowler

When the $25 World of Warcraft mount was released, one of the things I was worried about was inflation. I figured Blizzard would be selling more and more products at higher and higher prices. Just to see what they can get away with.

In the back of my mind I was also worrying about other companies copying the idea. Particularly games nowhere near as good as WoW. What happens when low rent games, non-triple AAA titles, that are already copying every other aspect of WoW, start copying their ridiculously over priced cash shop items as well? Does anyone here expect Alganon or dozens of other games to NOT follow in the wake of the most influential MMO on the market?

I guess I don’t play WoW so my arguments ring a little hollow, that’s fine. Thing is, I do play games that copy WoW, who doesn’t? Blizzard has opened the floodgates of greed, and now I fully expect ridiculously over priced mounts in Star Wars: The Old Republic, Guild Wars 2, Copernicus, and absolutely every other fucking game in the MMO genre, and frankly any game with online content, for the rest of time.

Thanks a lot Blizzard. You douche bags.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

