Sweet Tooths of Aika

April 5, 2010 at 10:45 pm | Posted in mmorpg | 4 Comments
Tags: , , ,

aikaPlaying through Aika has improved since I cleared up my quest level problem. I’m level 19 now and only a level away from where I aimed to stop. The thing is, I might actually continue playing. I don’t know yet. It’s not that I’ve grown to like Aika, it’s that I’ve grown to like Cringer, my Pran. Okay sure, I can’t keep track of whether it’s “Pran” or “Pram” half the time but she’s adorable!

“Master, I don’t want them to hurt you!” “You can do it!” and other phrases my Pran utter in a sweet, 6 year old like voice, must be designed to release serotonin into my brain or something. Okay I know of at least one friend of mine who thinks the English voice acting is terrible and in a somewhat pretentious move has switched over to the Japanese voice acting. but it doesn’t bother me. It’s just so stylistically sweet.

What does bother me is the constant creepy vibe I keep getting from the game. This time it’s a Pran npc offering to give me a good night kiss every time I speak to it. Ugh. Did the Catholic Church design this game?

But I do adore Cringer, and I’ve discovered that her child like form isn’t forever. Eventually she evolves into a Teen and then even an Adult. They’re pretty rare so far as I can tell. At least in the lower level areas. I have seen one and it was taller, looked about 12, and had different idle animations, like dropping to do a few quick push ups while you’re standing around.

Another thing I discovered from this gentleman’s blog is that all those little conversations I’ve been having have an effect. Depending on my answers my Pran is going to develop a personality. I’m no expert but there appear to be 7 different personality options. Cute, which all Pran’s start with, Intelligent, Sexy (ugh again), Hyper, Valiant, Corrupt, and Devotion.

I guess that’s what makes me want to keep going, but at the same time I have to get my Pran to level 20 to evolve, and she’s level 8. I’m not sure I’ll have the will to live if I grind that out.

4 Comments

  1. Whoa, I actually sort of like that pran feature where you can shape her personality with your conversations. The sexy thing is sort of…weird, but that makes me wonder if they won’t start to develop their traits until they reach adult stage.

    Can prans be male?

    • Nope, all prans are female. As far as I can tell anyway.

      I was actually doing some research and theres a selection of different phrases for each personality type at this url http://aika.gpotato.com/?m=game&a=pran

      • Boo, and there goes my plan to shape my male pran into be a sweet and strikingly handsome adult pran to be my in-game boyfriend. 😛

        • you’re absolutely right, there should be little male pran’s in tight fitting clothing asking to give you a good night kiss! good point. 😛


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

