I’m Reading Morrowind

March 17, 2010 at 2:48 am | Posted in rpg | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Morrowind mapI love Bethesda games, the kind of open world they provide in their single player games would be a dream in any online game. There’s a significant problem with Morrowind though, I’m not playing the game, so much as reading it.

My journal is over 100 pages long. I’m pretty sure I’m not even a third through the game yet. It’s hard to go back and find which quest is which and where I’m supposed to go, for a quest that’s anywhere buried 20, 30, sometimes 40 pages back. ‘Words, words, words’ as Hamlet would say. Oh yeah I don’t mind reading, including such works but not limited to, Hamlet and other (are you impressed yet?) Shakespearean plays!

That’s just part of the problem though. Finding dialogue options hidden in the constantly increasing number of subjects with practically any npc is mind numbing. Just today, I was speaking with an NPC, forgot I had a quest with him, and skipped over the dialogue option to finish the quest because it was a very common dialogue option that I normally skip over. I just don’t think I should have to use the scroll bar to get through talking to a completely forgettable npc.

Perhaps I shouldn’t be complaining. The amount of lore packed into the game is incredible. For instance, a shop keeper wants you to shoo away an actor who scares people away from entering his shop. The actor would gladly leave if he could find a troupe. You hear that a patron is interested in the arts, and when you meet him he informs you of his new play, and you can read the play. It’s a horrible play, but you can read it. Having played Oblivion before Morrowind, I’m also aware of the fact, that that very play appears in book form in that game as well.

In fact, most of the books from Morrowind (I have to wonder how detailed Daggerfall was, it’s supposedly much larger than almost any game you can name) appear in Oblivion. The only problem with that is, I keep reading them. I’m not getting anything done because these books within the game are sometimes actually pretty long, like A Dance In Fire. It’s 7 editions long with each edition being something like 40 pages. It doesn’t exactly add up to a real book but it’s very time consuming. I could be reading Star Wars books people. Or Hamlet. Kudos to Bathesda, sincerely. Nobody puts the effort into these games (Bioware does try though.) like they do. The Argonian Account for instance. It’s a sequel, in Oblivion, to A Dance In Fire.

Yet, despite all that, I would actually prefer to be reading the constant stream of random npc comments as I walk by, than hearing them. “Speak Outlander!” I’m honestly tempted to start killing npc’s who I have to walk by often.

Those are my only complaints about the game, and honestly, that’s pretty impressive. Oh no! You’ve got too much lore! Ewwww stop trying to tell me a story! I don’t want to feel immersed in this role playing game. Oh my god! Don’t make me read, I’d rather be watching television.

So yeah, I’m reading Morrowind. It’s a good book.

2 Comments

  1. this was funny…
    i tried playing Morrowind once. i didn’t do the first pat in order, though. i spent upwards of 25 hours wandering around the open map, stealing things and fighting people. then i realized that there was a plot to the game so i headed back to the first city to deliver that letter. when i got to the place i was suppose to be at, the man asked me for the letter and i realized that i didn’t have it. i’d dropped it somewhere, probably days ago, and i couldn’t remember where. the game told me that i couldn’t proceed without the letter & that i would have to start over. 😦

    • Yea that happens to me sometimes, I sympathize. Except with me I usually sell the quest item and forget who I sold it to.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

