Finish Him!

March 10, 2014 at 6:06 pm | Posted in Gem Store, Guild Wars 2, mmorpg, PvE, PvP, WvW | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

I’ve had a lot of complaints about Guild Wars 2’s gem store over the past year and a half. There’s the weird pricing structures, expensive temporary items, and the potential power creep of some items becoming more useful than comparable older items. One thing I’m becoming more and more tempted by however are the finishers.

Finishers are mostly for PvP. It’s basically a little animation when you stomp someone in WvW, Structured PvP, and increasingly in PvE as well. There are 12 available in the gem store ranging in price from about 500 gems to 800. And I really want to buy one.

I have some temporary finishers ready to go, 10 or 20 collected from festivals and other rewards from playing the game. Not to mention the default finisher which is basically just a spear driven into the ground, and my PvP rank finisher which is just the cutest wittle bunny wabbit family hopping around a banner. None of the temporary ones would really last long, certainly not in WvW, so I’m definitely looking at something more permanent.

With the Toxic Alliance living story arc however a lot of PvE mobs suddenly had a downed phase. I don’t know if that was specifically put in to drive up the sale of finishers but it has certainly worked on me. I’ve been looking through youtube trying to figure out which finisher is best finisher.

For instance, while I find the Permanent Quaggan Finisher (see video below) amusing, I don’t think I want a permanent one. A lot of the finishers are pretty cool, and there a number of them that aren’t currently on sale like the Permanent Super Explosive Finisher, and numerous festival-related finishers.

Anyway I just thought I’d give credit where it’s due, finishers are a great cosmetic item in the gem shop. Now I just have to figure out which way I want to send players and mobs into the mists. Whumped by a giant maybe? Straddled by a spectre of death?

Let’s see more PvE downed state guys.

2 Comments

  1. I like finishers. They’re a great example of a cosmetic product that is still attractive enough to pay for.

    Yeah, I haven’t bought the quaggans yet, despite liking and enjoying the look, but maybe someday…

    In the meantime, I really like my sanctified finisher. It’s not super showy, but fits immersively into the world. I have two guardians and an orange themed warrior for whom it totally fits, I even use it on a necro for a why-the-hell-not-since-I-have-it.

    Each finisher appeals to an individual’s sense of personal taste and gives personal enjoyment. S’ great!

    • Sanctified seems like one of the animated finishers that has a really good cost for what you get, kind of a bargain. Definitely one of the finishers I’m considering.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 637 other followers

