Sea of Tomorrows

January 7, 2013 at 5:17 pm | Posted in Books, Guild Wars 2, mmorpg | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I have not spoken of the upcoming 3rd Guild Wars 2 novel since May of last year. At that point the publication date, a placeholder, was set in February. Since then the placeholder date had moved to August, and at this point Simon & Schuster is listing July as a target, while Amazon lists June 25th. Okay. Not frustrating at all.

Now I haven’t been paying buttloads of attention to the book news for the past few months, other things have been going on, but when I dropped by the books page on Amazon/S&S I noticed the synopsis was available.

The lost kingdom of Orr lies beneath the ocean waves, an entire civilization swallowed by an ancient cataclysm. For centuries, the depths have lain dormant, those ancient secrets lost. Until now. The Elder Dragon Zhaitan has risen. In its wake, the drowned kingdom of Orr is reborn—and another destroyed. The city of Lion’s Arch, for generations a cornerstone of civilization in Tyria, is brutally swept beneath the waves, leaving nothing but ruins. Among the survivors is Cobiah Marriner, a human sailor shipwrecked by the tsunami and stranded at sea. When he is rescued by a ferocious charr, Cobiah knows that he’s been plunged into a world forever changed. Now, Zhaitan’s undead servants dominate the sea, destroying port after port and slaughtering anything in their path. In the midst of ruin, Cobiah vows to see Lion’s Arch rebuilt. Amid the storm of the dragon’s rising, Cobiah must become a hero to his crew and an admiral to the pirate fleet, and face the ghosts of his past. Only then will he master the Sea of Sorrows and crush the armada of Orr.

I suppose there isn’t a whole lot of new information here aside from the identity of our hero. We already know he was the man to unite the pirates and rebuild Lion’s Arch. You can find a couple references to Cobiah in game, his grandson is a commodore in Lion’s Arch in fact.

Aside from that the atmosphere is being set and it should make for quite the book. I can’t wait to live blog it. Yes, I am doing that again. I know it’s pointless. I know nobody gives a crap. Consider it liveblogged!

5 Comments

  1. Liveblog… a book? That’s a novel concept to me.

    But it might just be the thing to motivate me into reading it, after failing to muster the courage to venture into the previous ones… so, for completely egotistical reasons, I urge you: go for it!

  2. Hum, doesn’t ring even a bit of interest in me. However, I am trying my best to get into this game and thus I’ll read it with you. Never know I might find something to make GW2 a more story based game. I hope… Having said that it seems somewhat unrelated to todays GW2 (ok that’s mean of me to say – but I was happy with “city was flooded, then rebuilt by those who couldn’t move on”). One would wonder why they would stop with these 3 books though. In fact where have my short story blog posts gone? I sort of enjoyed those a lot, and would help me out now! Especially if it was about characters and places I could actually visit right now.

    • I’m looking forward to it for filling in some gaps between 1 and 2.

  3. [...] Hunter’s Insight — Sea of Tomorrows. “I have not spoken of the upcoming 3rd Guild Wars 2 novel since May of last year. At that point the publication date, a placeholder, was set in February. Since then the placeholder date had moved to August, and at this point Simon & Schuster is listing July as a target, while Amazon lists June 25th. Okay. Not frustrating at all.” [...]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 635 other followers

